Topic-Changing Thursdays: Holiday Fun

Merry Post-Christmas! For those of you who celebrate, I hope you had a nice time with family. We again visited Maryland after just being back for Thanksgiving. (It was such a short time between this year!) I figured today is a good day to share some holiday pictures from over the past month. No recipes today, just photos. Tune in next week for some new recipes!

DSC01655

Before we left for Thanksgiving, we bought our first Christmas tree. We could have waited until our return, but with only 2 weeks until we were leaving again, I wanted a little extra time to enjoy our first tree. It was surprisingly easy to set up, so we shall see about taking it down!

DSC01346

DSC01361

For our flight back to Maryland, I had just received my frequent flier status, which meant that we both got upgraded on our second leg of the trip.

DSC01404

This meant that we ended up eating two dinners because we weren’t expecting the upgrade or food. Oops!

The first leg was full of pretty mountain ranges near Washington.

DSC01388

The big one is Rainier.

DSC01390

DSC01392

Overall, I saw about 4-5 large mountains. Mount Baker and Mount Saint Helens were also there, but we were not sure which ones were which.

For our second leg, as we got close to Baltimore there were some pretty city views.

DSC01420

DSC01421

DSC01426

Thanksgiving was fun because there was lots of good food, as well as seeing my loved ones like my nephew!

DSC01448

My dad gave us free tickets to a local tree festival (it is for charity). There were so many cool trees to see! Of course I had to stand with the Ravens’ tree.

DSC01622

Then there was an Elvis tree…

DSC01648

An origami tree:

DSC01670

A tree made entirely out of wine bottles:

DSC01668

A belly-dancing tree:

DSC01772

And then there were gingerbread houses, too.

DSC01779

DSC01788

DSC01793

DSC01833

DSC01645

Before we left to go home, my dad made sure I had one of my favorites: Maryland Crabcakes!

WP_20131202_003

Speaking of eating, I made my apple crumb pie twice. Once for my dad, and once for when we had neighbors over. This time I made it a bit prettier than last year’s.

IMG_9511

IMG_9514

IMG_9520

We had lots of people over to our house, which meant using my snowmen dishes:

IMG_9529

Lots of food making….and K taking spy pictures of us.

DSC01288

We also celebrated Lisa‘s birthday!

IMG_9506

Lots of cold weather. This looks like snow, but isn’t. Just loads and loads of frost. Eek!

DSC01329

For our trip back to Christmas, we got to see lots of family and friends. On Christmas Day, we started with our gift-swap.

DSC02089

Then we had dinner with my side of the family, and it’s always at my dad’s house.

DSC02172

Apparently we were too busy eating to get pictures of the food on the table. Just the appetizers…

DSC02224

There were some funny moments during the family gift exchange, which is mostly between my dad and his sisters.

DSC02358

After dinner, a new tradition has been to play a Christmas Bingo my aunt provides. There are even funny prizes!

DSC02513

My favorite prize was probably the snow in a can. You add water, and bam! Snow. Or kind of. It feels really soft and cotton-like.

DSC02406

DSC02407

DSC02410

 

We have lots of decorations around the house that always go up. A bunch of them were items my mom painted. They used to make these craft kits where you paint ceramic (I think) scenes. She was really good and made them for some people in the family, too. It got harder to find them each year. We think it’s because no one wanted to bother with them. (They took a lot of work and time.)

DSC02379-001

 

The one above is supposed to be my brother, our dog, our first cat, and me. She personalized the pets and kids to match us. It’s one of my favorites of all of the ones she painted.

I hope you had a Merry Christmas, if you celebrate it!

7 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: Holiday Fun

  1. This is such a happy post 🙂 The fireplace sculpture with you and your brother is possibly the cutest thing in the world. What a sweet keepsake to have. It’s nice to peek in on your holidays on the east coast and I am so happy we could start celebrations together!!

Share Your Thoughts

