Moroccan Roasted Chicken

I couldn’t believe how easy this recipe was. The list of ingredients seems a bit long looking back at it now, but really it’s not. The only thing I had to buy was the green onion (I needed some more). The recipe was supposed to use hazelnuts, but my grocery store was completely out of them (and still is–ugh!!!). I love pistachios, and I felt they could go well with this. Now, I wouldn’t make it any other way! The rose water is an ingredient you might not have. You might want to do without it, and I get that…but if you’re at all curious, I suggest you try it. I’ve been on the fence, but this dish made me glad I had it. I could taste it, but not in a yucky way (haha). I could see how it added flavor and made it taste like I was somewhere fancier than my own kitchen.

IMG_9086

Besides the pistachios, I also loved the sauce that gradually formed as the chicken baked. It was amazing!! Definitely make sure you have some rice to soak it up. And pan-roasted asparagus on the side? Yeah, I loved this meal.

IMG_9082

If you can chop an onion and pistachios…you can make this. That is the most work required.

IMG_9072

Directions for Moroccan Roasted Chicken

Adapted from Ottolenghi

  • 1-2 pounds chicken thighs (I used bone-in, skin-on, but next time I will use boneless/skinless)
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of saffron threads
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice (juice from half a lemon)
  • 1 Tablespoon cold water
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 100 g pistachios, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 Tablespoon rose water
  • 1 green onion, chopped

Mix together the chicken with the onion, olive oil, ginger, cinnamon, saffron, lemon juice, water, pepper, and salt. Let marinate for at least one hour or overnight (in the refrigerator).

IMG_9073

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Pour the chicken and marinade into a baking dish and bake for about 35 minutes (until almost cooked through).

IMG_9075

Meanwhile, mix together the pistachios, honey, and rose water.

IMG_9076

When the chicken only needs about 5-10 more minutes, spread the honey mixture on top of the chicken pieces.

The red bits are saffron (my husband was concerned)

The red bits are saffron (my husband was concerned)

Sprinkle the green onion on top.

IMG_9081

Bake until the chicken is cooked through.

IMG_9085

Directions for Moroccan Roasted Chicken (without pictures)

Adapted from Ottolenghi

  •  1-2 pounds chicken thighs (I used bone-in, skin-on, but next time I will use boneless/skinless)
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch of saffron threads
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice (juice from half a lemon)
  • 1 Tablespoon cold water
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 100 g pistachios, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 1 Tablespoon rose water
  • 1 green onion, chopped

Mix together the chicken with the onion, olive oil, ginger, cinnamon, saffron, lemon juice, water, pepper, and salt. Let marinate for at least one hour or overnight (in the refrigerator).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Pour the chicken and marinade into a baking dish and bake for about 35 minutes (until almost cooked through). Meanwhile, mix together the pistachios, honey, and rose water. When the chicken only needs about 5-10 more minutes, spread the honey mixture on top of the chicken pieces. Sprinkle the green onion on top. Bake until the chicken is cooked through.

4 thoughts on “Moroccan Roasted Chicken

  1. Mmmm…this looks and sounds delicious. I really want to try it soon – thanks for sharing! I’m not a fan of rose flavored things though I’ve never had it in savory. I like both hazelnuts and pistachios so that’s a dilemma…

    • Hehe. I guess you could split it in half and do half with hazelnuts, and have with pistachios! 😀 I hope you like it, and it is a great recipe to see if you like rosewater in savory form.

Share Your Thoughts

