Tips-y Tuesdays: Halloween Treats

I didn’t think I would be creating any Halloween goodies. I’m not normally very creative in the whole decorating/making things look good way. But, we were hosting a party this past weekend and I wanted some themed treats. So, I came up with the Meringue Ghosts you saw yesterday and the Pudding Graveyards you see today. Both have been done before, but I put my own spin on the treats. Do you like to do gross treats for your Halloween parties, or stick to the ideas of Halloween (like ghosts and tombstones)? I couldn’t bring myself to do the gross kind, but I might for a kid party. Are you a party-thrower who does themes? I usually don’t, but again, that goes with my lack of creativity in that department. After visiting my friend Kim and seeing all of her amazing decorations I felt ashamed that I haven’t done more, but I just can’t think of what to do! So, feel free to share your decorating tips here.

IMG_9143

DSC01134

 

I made my ladyfingers again. They turn out every time!

IMG_9139

For the Pudding Graveyards today, I kept it simple. I didn’t even make my own pudding because we had some pudding packets that needed to be used. Our other treats were non-chocolate, so I wanted to make this chocolatey. You will need:

IMG_9193

  • Pudding (chocolate is best to look like dirt)
  • Cookie crumbs (I used a dark graham cracker cookie pack I had to look more like brown dirt, but you could use Oreos, or a mix of cookies)
  • Ladyfingers, cut in half
  • Melted chocolate
  • Cups (your choice on size/style)
  • Pastry bag or plastic bag

Divide the pudding evenly in your cups for the number of people you wish to serve. Sprinkle cookie crumbs on top.

I added some cocoa powder and powdered sugar to change the flavor a bit.

I added some cocoa powder and powdered sugar to change the flavor a bit.

 

IMG_9137

Cut the ladyfingers in half with a serrated knife:

IMG_9140

Using the pastry bag with a small tip or a plastic bag with the corner snipped off, squeeze out the melted chocolate to write “RIP” on the tops of the ladyfingers.

I melted some chocolate and coconut oil, then added some meringue powder and powdered sugar to thicken it.

I melted some chocolate and coconut oil, then added some meringue powder and powdered sugar to thicken it.

 

IMG_9142

Place the ladyfingers in the pudding to look like tombstones.

IMG_9191

That’s it! Very simple and yummy, plus it’s friendly for kids!

IMG_9190

DSC01103

 

IMG_9146

 

Stay tuned for the cake in the background…

DSC00937

9 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Halloween Treats

  1. Pingback: Topic-Changing Thursdays: Happy Halloween! | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

