Crispy Sweet Potatoes

If you were wondering what was going on last week, since I kept saying something special was happening, well….my dad’s wedding was yesterday! I made a cake for the two of them to have for their cake-cutting. I do not have the pictures to share at this point, but hopefully soon! Maybe in a Topic-Changing Thursday post. 🙂

IMG_8849

In the meantime, I have these yummy sweet potatoes for you. I am so used to buying regular potatoes that I forget how good sweet potatoes are. This might be my favorite way to have them. Often, people make their sweet potatoes too sweet for my taste. I never understood the marshmallow casserole thing. Bleck. To me, they are sweet enough as is, and I like them with a savory edge. This recipe gives a little sass to the sugary sweet potato.

IMG_8853

Directions for Crispy Sweet Potatoes

  • 2-3 sweet potatoes
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • Coconut oil (or vegetable oil)
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley

Microwave (or bake) the sweet potatoes until soft. To bake them, make sure to wrap in foil first. Let them cool enough for you to cut them into bite-sized pieces (the skin can be kept on if you scrubbed the potatoes prior to cooking, or removed).

In a cast iron skillet, heat some coconut oil over medium heat. Add all of the white parts and half of the green parts of the green onion.

IMG_8837

After 1-2 minutes when the onion has softened, add the potato chunks in batches to the pan.

IMG_8838

Sprinkle some salt and pepper, then allow to brown on each side.

IMG_8841

Once all of the potato pieces are browned, add them all back to the pan with the remaining green onion and the parsley.

IMG_8842

Stir until well-combined.

IMG_8844

Directions for Crispy Sweet Potatoes (without pictures)

  • 2-3 sweet potatoes
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • Coconut oil (or vegetable oil)
  • Pepper
  • Salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried parsley

Microwave (or bake) the sweet potatoes until soft. To bake them, make sure to wrap in foil first. Let them cool enough for you to cut them into bite-sized pieces (the skin can be kept on if you scrubbed the potatoes prior to cooking, or removed).

In a cast iron skillet, heat some coconut oil over medium heat. Add all of the white parts and half of the green parts of the green onion. After 1-2 minutes when the onion has softened, add the potato chunks in batches to the pan. Sprinkle some salt and pepper, then allow to brown on each side. Once all of the potato pieces are browned, add them all back to the pan with the remaining green onion and the parsley. Stir until well-combined.

4 thoughts on “Crispy Sweet Potatoes

  1. Congrats to your dad, Alyssa! I’m sure you made a wonderful cake for them.
    I love sweet potatoes in an extreme way. Maybe because my son actually liked them as a baby (one of the few veggies), I’ve been cooking them ever since. I literally almost always have them in the house and probably eat one a day so I’m all for new sweet potato recipes. I just roast mine.

Share Your Thoughts

