Topic-Changing Thursdays: San Diego

This is a special week, which is part of the reason you had a Tips-y Tuesday post and why you are getting a Topic-Changing post today. If you are interested in why this is a special week, you could get some hints by checking out some of these posts. My part of the job starts today, so I am a bit busy. The big deal is this weekend, and I will report back on Monday! Although I might be a bit distracted because I will be flying home that day.

DSC09920

 

ANYway, in the meantime, I am entertaining you with some pictures from our last long weekend, which took place in San Diego. We were married over 2 years ago, and that is how long it is has taken me to see one of our groomsmen again. He has been one of my friends since my first year in college (yes, just about as long or a bit longer than I’ve known K!), has known K since high school, and he helped bring me and K together. So, he rightfully deserved to be in our wedding party. Even though we are good friends, he lives in San Diego and has not had much vacation time because he is a doctor. This meant that we needed to go to him, as well as check out the city. K has been before, but I have not.

At brunch...I loved how fresh the fruit was.

At brunch…I loved how fresh the fruit was.

Our last dinner. This farro risotto was amazing.

Our last dinner. This farro risotto was amazing.

Coconut flan dessert thing.

Coconut flan dessert thing.

 

 

I’m not sure how many of you have been to San Diego before, but it is crazy hot. Now, I grew up in Maryland and we had many hotter days than the temperatures were in San Diego during our stay, but dang! I just about melted in the dry heat. Apparently I do best with humid heat. Hmm.

I felt like this polar bear.

I felt like this polar bear.

Our friend loves it, though, and he often goes on hikes in the nearby deserts.

DSC09421

He was a great host, taking us to many good places to eat, and showing us beautiful beaches.

DSC09496

 

I loved how pretty the sand looked:

DSC09465

 

Bad news, though…the water is super cold. K didn’t believe me at first…

DSC09434

 

until he tried it himself…

 

DSC09440-001

 

and then attempted to drag me back in…

DSC09445

 

They are also a bit windy, which led to this…

DSC09497-001

One of my favorite parts was kayaking because we went with him, his girlfriend, and another two friends who happened to be visiting from San Francisco at the same time. My bottom was soaked by the time we were done, but K and I have gotten a lot better rowing together. I think it helps that my arms are stronger than the last time we went, so I do not get as tired (and thus not as cranky). Unfortunately, we don’t have any pictures from that because I was not going to risk ruining our camera in the water.

Another favorite activity was the San Diego Zoo. Both our friend and his girlfriend have special passes which got us in for free! Super awesome deal. There is so much to see there. For anyone who knows me, there were lots of panda pictures…

DSC09674

 

DSC09681

 

I loved the pandas.

I loved the pandas.

They also have koalas.

They also have koalas.

 

What creature is this?

What creature is this?

 

DSC09619

Poor camel.

Poor camel.

 

I never knew how graceful a hippo looked in the water.

I never knew how graceful a hippo looks in the water.

 

Next time I might try the Safari Zoo since I’ve heard great things about that one, too.

We did explore some other parts of San Diego…

This picture makes me nervous each time I see it.

This picture makes me nervous each time I see it.

DSC00023

Huge convention center!

Huge convention center!

Club (Gaslamp) District

Club (Gaslamp) District

Puppy kite!

Puppy kite!

 

Finally, I have to share some of the beach pictures because they are so pretty.

DSC09807

DSC09810

DSC09880

DSC09919

 

8 thoughts on “Topic-Changing Thursdays: San Diego

  1. Sounds like a lot of exciting things going on! We were in San Diego (right under that Gas Lamp District sign) in August. Don’t forget to stop by the Ghiradelli shop for a sundae!! : )

Share Your Thoughts

