Tips-y Tuesdays: How to Fill Your Waffles

Have you heard of Taiyaki before? Basically, picture a waffle in the shape of a fish with a filling inside. A traditional filling is red bean paste, but you can find many kinds. At a food stand near us, they even have one filled with bacon! I was inspired to fill some waffles of my own with some American-style fillings. For today, I am sharing my successes with cookie butter and jam, and this brings back a first Tips-y Tuesday in a while!

IMG_8683

They remind me a lot of these wheel cakes I have a few years ago at a night market in Vancouver, BC. In fact, those wheel cakes were what inspired me to branch out and try new fillings. My favorite filling at the night market was Nutella.

Here is the stand

Here is the stand

100_5175

These are more like pancakes where they pipe them out and have some filling, but not cooked like a waffle.

SNC00676

 

Here I am with my Nutella filling. I actually forgot about this haircut. Oh well. I liked it at the time, I think. 🙂 Anyway, for today’s waffles, you will need whatever you normally use to make your waffles. You might want to double the batter because you need extra for these. But they are also more filling. (Pun intended.) I used my basic buttermilk waffle recipe which paired well with these fillings.

IMG_8676

Once you have your batter mixed, and your fillings ready…simply pour some batter onto the waffle iron (but not the full amount for a waffle. Then, use a spatula to spread/drop some filling into the middle.

IMG_8677

IMG_8678

Pour some more waffle batter on top before closing the cover. Be careful with your amount of batter. I went overboard for this one (see how much I used on the bottom? not good…) and had some overflow.

IMG_8680

But in the end it was okay…

IMG_8681

 

The jelly kept the middle moist and tender. The cookie butter caused the waffles to crisp more.

 

IMG_8682

Feel free to have with or without syrup! You can mix up the fillings and try things like peanut butter, preserves, or anything else you would find tasty with your waffle.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: How to Fill Your Waffles

  1. I love going to the Japanese market and getting taiyaki or those stuffed pancakes (I thought they were one and the same!). I’ve only had it with red bean, which I adore, but Nutella sounds very intriguing. What’s not to love about that!
    Great idea to stuff the waffles. I love a good crispy on the outside, tender on the inside, waffle. I need a waffle maker! : )

Share Your Thoughts

