Salted Caramel and Butter Sauce

Yeah, that sounds like heaven, doesn’t it? Many moons ago, it would not have sounded as good. I hardly ever cooked with salt. It was something I would bake with, but even then I would try to use the smallest amounts possible. Then I discovered my big Salt Lover. Both as it reads, and the fact that I love my husband. I apparently usually smell like chocolate (I use cocoa butter body lotion) and he usually is salty (he loves his Utz potato chips). They say salt is necessary for life, and he is certainly necessary for mine. Today he is another year older, and although he may not like having to add another year to his age, I am perfectly happy adding to our time together.

IMG_7664

So, to K, my lovable salt-loving husband: you taught me to be a little more ok with salt in my cooking (everything in moderation, I suppose), but you also bring the sweetness. For you, I share this recipe. Perfect for ice cream, brownies, cookies, spoons…you know, whatever can be dipped.

We served the sauce at our July 4 party during our ice cream sundae dessert bar. And yes, I am laughing at him taking my picture. I can’t remember what he said, but it worked for a smile, I guess!

IMG_7683

Making this caramel was interesting because the sugar took a while to brown and it got liquidy. I possibly could have taken it further, but I did not want to risk burning the caramel. You definitely want to make sure you have all of the ingredients ready before you start.

IMG_7655

Directions for Salted Caramel and Butter Sauce

Slightly adapted from The Perfect Scoop

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt (the best you have)

Melt the butter in a large saucepan (or Dutch oven) over medium heat. Stir in the sugar and cook, stirring every so often until the mixture becomes a deep brown color.

IMG_7657

IMG_7658

IMG_7659

IMG_7660

IMG_7661

Remove it from the heat and immediately whisk in half of the cream. Be careful because it will bubble a lot. Whisk in the remaining cream and if you get lumps, whisk over medium heat until the lumps dissolve.

Don't freak out if his happens to you. Just keep whisking.

Don’t freak out if his happens to you. Just keep whisking.

Remove from heat again and stir in the vanilla and salt.

IMG_7663

Serve warm, or store it in the refrigerator until ready to use. You can microwave it or heat it on low in a small saucepan.

Directions for Salted Caramel and Butter Sauce (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from The Perfect Scoop

  • 4 Tablespoons butter
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon coarse salt (the best you have)

Melt the butter in a large saucepan (or Dutch oven) over medium heat. Stir in the sugar and cook, stirring every so often until the mixture becomes a deep brown color. Remove it from the heat and immediately whisk in half of the cream. Be careful because it will bubble a lot. Whisk in the remaining cream and if you get lumps, whisk over medium heat until the lumps dissolve. Remove from heat again and stir in the vanilla and salt. Serve warm, or store it in the refrigerator until ready to use. You can microwave it or heat it on low in a small saucepan.

13 thoughts on “Salted Caramel and Butter Sauce

  1. Awww…happy birthday to your other half! Sounds like you guys make the perfect sweet & salty combo. It made me smile when you said you smelled like chocolate! You know how much I love that. And it just so happens that I am a big potato chip girl. I think we can all be friends! : )

  2. Pingback: Berry Clafoutis (Baked Custard) | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Mocha Oatmeal Muffins | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Chocolate Ice Cream with Caramel Sauce, Mint Chocolate Chips, and Marshmallow Fluff (Phish Food-style) | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

