Chocolate Mint Dreams

For my birthday, I never know what I will get. I mean, I have some wish list items, but then my family and friends always throw in gifts they hope I will like or don’t have. I don’t think of myself as hard to shop for, but apparently they think I have lots of cookbooks and cooking tools making it hard to know what I don’t have. My brother picked out this cookbook, but I still don’t know exactly what led him to pick it. Luckily, he knows me well and picked a great cookbook. It has lots of good pictures and yummy sounding recipes. I hope to make another recipe from it very soon.

IMG_7642

 

This recipe is like a brownie in cookie form. I added in mint chocolate which makes the cookies nice and refreshing, while being very soft and gooey. They are not impressive-looking, but perfect for your family. I had lots of fun eating one with peanut butter ice cream. You can eat them however you like.

IMG_7640

Directions for Chocolate Mint Dreams

Slightly adapted from Back in the Day Bakery

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 1.5 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1 pound mint chocolate, chopped (or regular chocolate and add 1/2 teaspoon mint extract with the vanilla)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets.

With a double boiler or in the microwave, melt together the chocolate and butter.

IMG_7634

Set it aside to cool until it is just warm to the touch. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. In a different bowl, whisk together the eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, and coffee.

IMG_7635

Add the egg mixture to the chocolate mixture.

IMG_7636

Then stir in the flour mixture before folding in the chocolate chips.

IMG_7637

The mixture will be very liquidy. Portion out the cookies onto the trays.

IMG_7638

If the cookies do not hold their shape at all, chill the dough a bit before continuing. Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes until the cookies look a bit dry on top.

IMG_7639

Directions for Chocolate Mint Dreams (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from Back in the Day Bakery

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 eggs, room temperature
  • 1.5 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee
  • 1 pound mint chocolate, chopped (or regular chocolate and add 1/2 teaspoon mint extract with the vanilla)
  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line cookie sheets.

With a double boiler or in the microwave, melt together the chocolate and butter. Set it aside to cool until it is just warm to the touch. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder, and salt. In a different bowl, whisk together the eggs, brown sugar, vanilla, and coffee. Add the egg mixture to the chocolate mixture. Then stir in the flour mixture before folding in the chocolate chips.

The mixture will be very liquidy. Portion out the cookies onto the trays. If the cookies do not hold their shape at all, chill the dough a bit before continuing. Bake the cookies for about 10 minutes until the cookies look a bit dry on top.

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Mint Dreams

  1. I don’t have the book but checked it out from the library and was really impressed with it! The whole “chocolate mint dreams” title has me hooked already. I bet they’re good!

Share Your Thoughts

