Peanut Butter Ice Cream

After visiting one of our local Farmer’s Markets and tasting an ice cream bar (peanut butter ice cream dipped in chocolate), I had to make peanut butter ice cream. I absolutely love peanut butter and eat it out of the jar all of the time (don’t worry, if I want to double dip, I keep a second jar for that). Now, K doesn’t love it quite as much as I do, but he puts up with my mild obsession. Just like me, he loved the ice cream bar. He went from saying “I’m full…I’ll try one bite” to eating half of it willingly. I would love to make the ice cream bar at home, but I think I would make a big mess. So, I settled for the ice cream. You could add chocolate bits to this, but you could just as easily eat it with a chocolate cookie (totally happened).

IMG_7604

 

We have since gone looking for the ice cream bars again and had no look. Oh Whidbey Island Ice Cream bars…where did you go? Why did you leave when it actually got hot outside?

Now this ice cream is a new favorite because it is the easiest ever. Seriously. You mix it in a blender, with no eggs required. Awesome!!! Even our sad blender can handle it (but it can’t handle watermelon…ugh…story for another day?)

If you love peanut butter, you must make this. It is just as creamy as the jarred stuff, but frozen! How could you not want it? If you want, you can use half-and-half…I never buy it because I generally use milk or cream for things, so I “made” my own.

Directions for Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Slightly adapted from the Perfect Scoop

  • 3/4 cup (180 g) smooth peanut butter
  • 180 g sugar
  • 1 1/3 cups cream
  • 1 1/3 cups milk
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon vodka

In a blender, puree all of the ingredients (except for the vodka) together.

IMG_7593

 

Foamy and bubbly!

Foamy and bubbly!

Chill the mixture for a few hours in the refrigerator.

I chilled in the blender, but put a bowl underneath because I didn't trust the blender...but it didn't leak. Yay!

I chilled in the blender, but put a bowl underneath because I didn’t trust the blender…but it didn’t leak. Yay!

Then, stir in the vodka just before churning the ice cream.

IMG_7603

Directions for Peanut Butter Ice Cream (without pictures)

Slightly adapted from the Perfect Scoop

  • 3/4 cup (180 g) smooth peanut butter
  • 180 g sugar
  • 1 1/3 cups cream
  • 1 1/3 cups milk
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 Tablespoon vodka

In a blender, puree all of the ingredients (except for the vodka) together. Chill the mixture for a few hours in the refrigerator. Then, stir in the vodka just before churning the ice cream.

8 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Ice Cream

  1. Love Perfect Scoop recipes and this looks awesome! I also love making no-egg ice creams. I make Philadelphia style vanilla all the time. We love it alone and with any dessert and just couldn’t be faster and easier if you have the vanilla bean on hand.

  2. Pingback: Chocolate and Peanut Butter Tart | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Cookie Butter Ice Cream with Cookie Butter Chips | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

