Spaghetti Frittata

So, funny story about the cookbook I used for this recipe. I had it on my Amazon wishlist for some reason. I think I either came across it in looking at a different Italian cookbook or someone had recommended it directly. Either way, I had wanted it, but when I put things on my wishlist, I usually let them sit there for a while until I am positive I must own them. Well, I was visiting Maryland and my dad had me go through some of my mom’s old cookbooks. I picked a few to take with me, and I was reading through them when I returned. Apparently this was one of them! I had no idea when I first took it! So, I can thank my mom for getting me something from my wishlist, years before I knew I wanted it.

IMG_7462

 

IMG_7458

This is called a frittata, but it is not the kind I am used to seeing. It is mostly pasta, with a little bit of egg. You could use a little less spaghetti if you wanted, but I kind of liked it!

IMG_7457

Directions for Spaghetti Frittata

Adapted from Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking

  • 1/2 pound spaghetti
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • Olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 14 ounce can chopped tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella, shredded or diced
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • Salt and pepper

Cook the spaghetti until al dente, then toss with 1 Tablespoon butter, the Parmesan cheese, and parsley. Meanwhile, saute the shallot in some olive oil in a medium pan.

IMG_7447

When the shallot is lightly browned, add the tomatoes and a pinch of salt. Cook for about 15-20 minutes until the mixture is reduced. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

IMG_7450

Stir together the spaghetti with some pepper and the eggs.

IMG_7448

 

IMG_7451

In a 10-inch skillet, place the remaining tablespoon of butter and allow to melt. Put half of the spaghetti on the bottom, then add the tomato mixture on top.

IMG_7452

IMG_7453

Sprinkle the mozzarella over the tomatoes, then cover with the remaining spaghetti.

IMG_7454

Turn the heat to medium high and brown the bottom of the frittata. You can use a spatula to check on the color.

Before baking

Before baking

When ready, lightly spray the top of the spaghetti with oil then place under the broiler for a few minutes to brown the top and make it crispy.

IMG_7456

IMG_7459

Directions for Spaghetti Frittata (without pictures)

Adapted from Essentials of Classic Italian Cooking

  • 1/2 pound spaghetti
  • 2 Tablespoons butter
  • 1/3 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • Olive oil
  • 1 shallot, chopped
  • 14 ounce can chopped tomatoes, drained
  • 1/2 cup mozzarella, shredded or diced
  • 3 eggs, beaten
  • Salt and pepper

Cook the spaghetti until al dente, then toss with 1 Tablespoon butter, the Parmesan cheese, and parsley. Meanwhile, saute the shallot in some olive oil in a medium pan. When the shallot is lightly browned, add the tomatoes and a pinch of salt. Cook for about 15-20 minutes until the mixture is reduced. Remove from the heat and allow to cool.

Stir together the spaghetti with some pepper and the eggs. In a 10-inch skillet, place the remaining tablespoon of butter and allow to melt. Put half of the spaghetti on the bottom, then add the tomato mixture on top. Sprinkle the mozzarella over the tomatoes, then cover with the remaining spaghetti. Turn the heat to medium high and brown the bottom of the frittata. You can use a spatula to check on the color. When ready, lightly spray the top of the spaghetti with oil then place under the broiler for a few minutes to brown the top and make it crispy.

8 thoughts on “Spaghetti Frittata

  1. Oh geez, this looks so tasty! It’s like spaghetti carbonara crisped up and amped up with tomato goodness. Have I mentioned I love spaghetti carbonara? Yummy!

Share Your Thoughts

