Blood Orange Granita

If you stopped by on Wednesday, you saw a recipe for strawberry sorbet, but you also had a teaser for this recipe. This was for the same friend. Basically, while I was grocery shopping I saw a really cool looking fruit. I went to check it out and discovered that it was a blood orange. I had never tried one before, but knew all of the bloggers go nutty for them, so I decided to buy a few and try them out. They were really small (probably because they were organic) but I was worried how they would be, so I decided to only buy 4. It popped into my head that I could turn them into a granita. In fact, I felt certain that David Lebovitz could help me out.

IMG_6905

 

It has such a lovely color!

Blood Orange Juice

Blood Orange Juice

 

Sure enough, I found a recipe in his Perfect Scoop book. I had to change it a bit because I only had a small amount of blood orange juice, but I made it work!

IMG_6891

 

IMG_6893

This pairs well with something sweet because it is a bit tart. It is also good as a palate cleanser or a fresh dessert for a hot summer day.

Directions for Blood Orange Granita

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup blood orange juice (from about 4 small blood oranges)
  • Zest from 2 small blood oranges
  • 1 Tablespoon vodka

Warm the sugar with half of the juice and the zest in a medium saucepan over medium heat.

IMG_6895

Stir until the sugar is dissolved, then remove from heat.

IMG_6896

You can strain the mixture if you like before adding the remaining juice and the vodka. Pour the mixture into a shallow bowl for the freezer.

 

IMG_6897

After one hour, take a fork to stir the edges that freeze into the middle.

See how it has frozen a bit?

See how it has frozen a bit?

Every 30 minutes or so after, continue to do the same thing until the mixture is frozen through and the chunks are all crystals.  This will take about 2-3 hours.

IMG_6900

 

IMG_6902

Directions for Blood Orange Granita (without pictures)

Adapted from The Perfect Scoop

  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup blood orange juice (from about 4 small blood oranges)
  • Zest from 2 small blood oranges
  • 1 Tablespoon vodka

Warm the sugar with half of the juice and the zest in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir until the sugar is dissolved, then remove from heat. You can strain the mixture if you like before adding the remaining juice and the vodka. Pour the mixture into a shallow bowl for the freezer. After one hour, take a fork to stir the edges that freeze into the middle. Every 30 minutes or so after, continue to do the same thing until the mixture is frozen through and the chunks are all crystals.  This will take about 2-3 hours.

6 thoughts on “Blood Orange Granita

  1. What a beautiful color to this granita! Did you have any leftovers because I’m curious as to how you handled it. I’ve made granita a couple of times and I kind of remember the last time, my leftovers hardened into a rock and I can’t remember what I did with it!

Share Your Thoughts

