Berry Buttermilk Scones

It was time to make my dad another monthly dessert, but I had only recently moved, so I needed it to be simple. This recipe allowed me to test out the new kitchen some more, so it was fun! I have made scones many times, and many varieties, but apparently I had only shared a couple on here (chocolate chip and cinnamon). This version is basically like the chocolate chip. You can use milk, cream, or buttermilk with this recipe and get good results, although each will be a bit different. I like buttermilk when I want a fluffier texture. The dough tends to be extra sticky, so when you pat it out, I recommend just making one disc and not two (although in the recipe I say you can do either).

IMG_7152-001

 

You can mix and match add-ins. I used dried blueberries and strawberries because that is what I had.

IMG_7135

 

If your fruit is large, you can cut it up like I did the strawberries. You want them to be like slightly small raisins. (Raisins would also work well here.) Lemon zest goes well with frozen blueberries (or fresh). You would add the lemon zest either with the dry ingredients or with the berries (it’s up to you). About a teaspoon would be perfect.

For the butter, I tested grating some of the butter into the scones to see if it would change the texture, instead of just blending it in by hand.

IMG_7142

 

It looks cool, but didn’t make a difference (just a mess on the grater), so I wouldn’t do it again.

Because I am cooking in a new kitchen, I had to figure out how to lay things out.

IMG_7140

I’ve enjoyed working near the window. Also, because I had a not cool laptop (it died), I got to play with using my new one in display mode.

IMG_7147

 

It’s really nice for touching the screen and following recipes without getting the keyboard gross!

If berries aren’t your thing, you can still make these scones with chocolate or other mix-ins.

IMG_7149

Directions for Berry Buttermilk Scones

  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk (you can use buttermilk powder in this recipe)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup dried, fresh, or frozen berries (I used dried strawberries and blueberries)
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and chilled
  • A couple tablespoons turbinado (raw) sugar (optional)
  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and prepare 2 baking pans with parchment/silicone mats.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and prepare 2 baking pans with parchment/silicone mats.

Stir the egg and buttermilk together, then put aside.

Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl.

IMG_7139

Then, using either a pastry blender, two knives, or your fingers, blend the butter into the dry ingredients until you get a crumbly mixture, with the butter broken up into tiny pea-sized pieces. Now, use a fork and stir in the buttermilk/egg mixture–gently! Before it gets fully mixed, add in the berries. After mixing until the dough comes together, put onto a lightly floured surface and pat into 2 5-inch discs, or one larger disc.

IMG_7144

Now it is time to cut the scones. I use my pastry scraper to get nice even cuts.It also helps for getting the dough onto the sheets if it’s a little sticky that day.

IMG_7146

 

Optional step: Sprinkle some turbinado sugar on top before baking.

IMG_7148

If you wish to freeze them, you can pop them in the freezer right now, then wrap them after. When you bake them later, bake them without thawing and add a few minutes to the time. You can also freeze them after baking them, once they have cooled to room temperature.

Bake them for about 18-20 minutes, until they get a nice golden brown color.

IMG_7150

Directions for Berry Buttermilk Scones (without pictures)

  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup buttermilk (you can use buttermilk powder in this recipe)
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup dried, fresh, or frozen berries (I used dried strawberries and blueberries)
  • 5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into small pieces and chilled
  • A couple tablespoons turbinado (raw) sugar (optional)
  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and prepare 2 baking pans with parchment/silicone mats.

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and prepare 2 baking pans with parchment/silicone mats.

Stir the egg and buttermilk together, then put aside.

Whisk the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together in a large bowl. Then, using either a pastry blender, two knives, or your fingers, blend the butter into the dry ingredients until you get a crumbly mixture, with the butter broken up into tiny pea-sized pieces. Now, use a fork and stir in the buttermilk/egg mixture–gently! Before it gets fully mixed, add in the berries. After mixing until the dough comes together, put onto a lightly floured surface and pat into 2 5-inch discs, or one larger disc. Now it is time to cut the scones. I use my pastry scraper to get nice even cuts. It also helps for getting the dough onto the sheets if it’s a little sticky that day.

Optional step: Sprinkle some turbinado sugar on top before baking.

If you wish to freeze them, you can pop them in the freezer right now, then wrap them after. When you bake them later, bake them without thawing and add a few minutes to the time. You can also freeze them after baking them, once they have cooled to room temperature.

Bake them for about 18-20 minutes, until they get a nice golden brown color.

6 thoughts on “Berry Buttermilk Scones

  1. I like how you play with different liquids and good tip about not grating the butter. I was wondering if the scones bake up just as good after freezing? I’ve never made scones but I’m curious. As of right now, no one in the family’s a big fan of them (but we’re no experts on the matter) so if I made some, I’d definitely make a small recipe and need to freeze some. I love the idea of tea time with some scones and finger sandwiches, don’t you? : )

  2. Pingback: Cranberry Scones | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Mixed Berry Scones | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

