Moving-In Time!

Well, not exactly. Technically we moved in just under a week before this post is going live, but if you have been following the story this week, this is the final installment. During the week, you have learned about what I loved about our old place (as well as what I didn’t like as much), the house hunting process (uggggh so long), and cleaning out the pantry. The journey only seemed to get less fun, yet still more exciting as we went along. Both of us are used to moving, but it doesn’t get easier. This is my shortest move ever, only about 10 minutes away from our current place. We hired movers because, (a) we’re not muscly enough for my antique furniture, (b) we have lots of stairs in our current place, and (c) we ask enough from our friends as is. Another big reason is time. Moving always takes longer than you expect, and we wanted some help speeding it up.

Stairs at the new place!

Stairs at the new place!

Even picking movers was hard. When K moved out here, his work moved him with a big cross-country company. I used the same one ($$$$$!) and my stuff arrived mostly perfect. The company uses local affiliated companies, and the ones who packed me in Maryland were super awesome. The ones unpacking me…not so much. But, we wanted to go with the same big company again because we knew what to expect. Well, they decided to not return my phone calls about setting up payment (say what?!), so I decided to look for a different company. We picked one right in Seattle that was cheaper and willing to make the move in about half a day (much shorter than the other company was quoting).

Living Room/Entry

Living Room/Entry

Meanwhile, K and I spent each weekend packing up a room of stuff. Apparently K has accumulated a ton of stuff from his 9 years here. I pared down quite a bit when I moved here, so it was time for him to do a bit, too. We also learned our packing styles. When I moved here, I saw it a bit. Basically, we don’t always agree on how things should go. I dislike packing because I am picturing the unpacking process. K just doesn’t like packing and prefers to do it later than sooner. So, this was loads and boxes of fun. The last room to get packed was the kitchen (duh). I planned our dinners so that we could do some light cooking, have leftovers from the freezer (helping to empty it a bit!), and eat out/have carryout on the crucial nights like the move.

Family Room

Family Room

The week of the move, there was still lots to do. Monday was the walk-through. This helped us see the house in its worst light (lots of random junk and dirt from the owners who were mostly moved out, but still had cleaning to do). It had been over a month since we were in the house, so it was great to see it again and still feel good about it. The mess made us itchy to get in there and clean it, but we had to be patient. Tuesday was signing the papers before getting the keys on Thursday. Unfortunately I could not be there for the keys because of work, but I met K at the house once I was done. Thursday also involved some cleaning and moving, which continued Friday. Saturday was the big move day!

Dining Room

Dining Room

I want to include more pictures, but we’re still working on the house. It is a bit sad to realize I can’t cook in my other kitchen again. I got used to seeing the countertops in my picture backgrounds. Now I have to get used to light-colored wood cabinets and a different granite look. We were so happy that the previous owners hired cleaners after they moved out, which made the moving in process so much nicer. These pictures are all from the day we got the keys and were able to move a few things.

I love the light in this house!

I love the light in this house!

Part of the ktichen

Part of the ktichen

I love that we have a computer desk area in our kitchen. Perfect for my husband!

I love that we have a computer desk area in our kitchen. Perfect for my husband!

Stay tuned for more pictures on Monday! I managed to get some pictures with our stuff saved to WordPress before my laptop died.

17 thoughts on “Moving-In Time!

  1. The house is absolutely gorgeous!! I wish you guys a very happy life in there. I adore the desk area in the kitchen and the beautiful entry way, and…well, I could go on and on… : )

  2. We moved into a ranch house and still hired movers. With that amazing (and big) staircase I would absolutely 100% have hired movers too. There are some things worth every penny. Think of all the money you’ll have saved on doctors bills from not wrenching your back??

    Oh, and I love packing. It’s the organization of it all. There’s something satisfying about wrapping like things in a tidy box and taping it shut. I’m crazy, I know. I bet I packed 95% of our house when we moved. Except for the garage stuff that is. I don’t do garages.

    Our second bath has glass doors, but so far it’s only been used maybe three times. You’ll have to share tips on keeping the glass sparkling. Love that bathroom. They say kitchens and bathrooms sell houses and yours definitely stand out.

    • The staircase in the new house wasn’t even the main reason. Two flights of stairs in our old place…ugh…

      We’ll have to see how the sparkly stays. They had professional cleaners. We bought the daily shower stuff and a squeegee. The husband is happy doing it since he gets to stay in the shower longer. 😀 Thanks for the compliments!!

  3. Pingback: Berry Buttermilk Scones | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Berry Buttermilk Scones | fudgingahead

  5. Pingback: Chocolate Cake with Pudding (aka Brooklyn Blackout Cake) | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

