Orange Ricotta Pancakes

After making a pizza with some ricotta cheese, I needed a way to use up the extra ricotta. I had time to make breakfast (yay for weekends!) and thought it could be fine to try ricotta pancakes. Now, I only have ever tried them once. Maybe. My husband and I always celebrated our anniversary at a particular restaurant. We were unable to make it for dinner, so decided to go for brunch. I ordered some ricotta pancakes after hearing great things about what ricotta can do for the fluffiness. Well, you may or may not know my opinion on goat cheese/blue cheese/things that are sour…I am not a fan. They just make me think of rotting milk. So, when I tasted the pancakes and got a strong blue cheese kind of flavor, I asked the waiter what was in them. I figured that they may have done a substitution or changed the item without updating the menu. He insisted it was ricotta cheese in them, and I didn’t want to fuss so I left it at that. Of course, I only had a bite or two (and so did K). After that, I was a bit disappointed in them, and in the idea of ricotta pancakes.

IMG_6752

I’m still not sure what was in those pancakes, because these pancakes…well. They were truly awesome. I said before that I am not the pancake flipper, but even I was able to have luck with these. I added some orange zest just because, so you can certainly leave it out. Or, feel free to add lemon for a different flavor.

These pancakes produced the weirdest batter, though. You “pour” it into the skillet, but it feels more like plopping it down. It just sits there, and it makes you think something is going wrong. Well, they bubbled to let me know when they should be flipped, just like normal pancakes. I did not use any oil in the pan. Instead, I put a bit of water on my spatula before each flip. It kept my pancake from sticking and I had perfect results each time.

These are definitely fluffy pancakes, with a very light interior. This recipe made about 3 servings of pancakes, but you could easily double it to make more.

Directions for Orange Ricotta Pancakes

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 teaspoons sugar
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest (optional)

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.

IMG_6748

In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, ricotta, milk, vanilla, and orange zest.

IMG_6746

Beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks.

IMG_6747

Stir the egg yolk/ricotta mixture into the dry ingredients. Then, fold the egg whites into the mixture, but do it in thirds to keep the fluffy texture.

IMG_6750

Pour as much batter at a time as you like into your hot skillet.

IMG_6751

Feel free to add mini chocolate chips for an extra treat.

IMG_6755

IMG_6757

I kept the first pancakes warm in the oven at 200 degrees F while making all of them.

IMG_6753

Directions for Orange Ricotta Pancakes (without pictures)

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 3/4 cup ricotta cheese
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3 teaspoons sugar
  • Pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon orange zest (optional)

Whisk together the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt. In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg yolks, ricotta, milk, vanilla, and orange zest. Beat the egg whites until they form stiff peaks. Stir the egg yolk/ricotta mixture into the dry ingredients. Then, fold the egg whites into the mixture, but do it in thirds to keep the fluffy texture.

Pour as much batter at a time as you like into your hot skillet. Feel free to add mini chocolate chips for an extra treat. I kept the first pancakes warm in the oven at 200 degrees F while making all of them.

7 thoughts on “Orange Ricotta Pancakes

  1. I’ve never had ricotta pancakes, I don’t think. That’s so interesting how the batter sits there like that! I like that Mickey Mouse-looking first one most. : ) Do you like buttermilk pancakes or does that fall into the “sour” category? I never would’ve thought I’d be the buttermilk fan that I am today…so I need to try some ricotta pancakes…

    • I do like buttermilk in baking/cooking. It doesn’t taste sour in application. They clearly used something weird in what I had. Oh well! I think the shapes are a little easier to do with these because they stay in place. You should give these a go sometime.

  2. Pingback: Basic Pancakes | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

