Spicy Spaghetti with Hazelnuts and Cauliflower

Thanks to my Aunt V who clipped an article for me from the Washington Post (a while ago), I found a version of this recipe which inspired me. I had cauliflower, but that was about it. Most of the rest of the ingredients were random things that I wanted to change. So, here is an easy weeknight all-in-one meal which still manages to be healthy. (More so if you use whole wheat pasta.)

IMG_6721

Even though I used cauliflower, I could see using broccoli instead. You could probably even use other veggies, but that would be the easiest swap. Likewise, you could use a different nut instead of hazelnuts. But, my hazelnuts were (technically) expired–I had been using whole ones and forgot about these chopped ones. They were still fine, and this way I got to use them and not waste them.

IMG_6710

IMG_6717

After seeing another blogger make her eggs like this (I honestly can’t remember which one–ack! Tell me if you know.) I thought it would be fun to try for this. Basically, I heated the non-stick skillet with no oil of any kind and dropped the egg in gently and allowed it to heat on medium-low until the whites had set, but the yellows not quite. I then used it in this recipe since we love eggs with everything.

IMG_6707

Done!

Done!

On a different note, if you want to work on your photography skills, hop on over to my friend Cinnamon’s blog. She is sharing weekly tips and giving assignments to help!

Directions for Spicy Spaghetti with Hazelnuts and Cauliflower

Inspired by a Washington Post recipe

  • 1 head cauliflower, washed and chopped into bite-sized chunks
  • 8 ounces spaghetti
  • Oil
  • Red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • Fresh rosemary, thyme, and parsley (or dried)
  • About 2/3 cup chopped nuts, toasted
  • 2-3 eggs lightly fried or scrambled eggs (see above)
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Begin by bringing a big pot of water to boil. Drop the cauliflower in to cook for just 3 minutes.

IMG_6712

While they cook, heat a bit of oil and the red pepper flakes in a large saucepan.

IMG_6709

Add the garlic and herbs after a minute or two.

IMG_6708

Then add the cauliflower when ready, directly into the pan. Increase the heat to saute the cauliflower.

IMG_6713

IMG_6714

Meanwhile, bring the water back to a boil for the spaghetti. Add the nuts to the cauliflower mixture. When the spaghetti is cooked al dente, stir it in as well.

IMG_6715

Add the eggs, breaking them up a bit as you stir.

IMG_6718

Then stir in the cheese and salt/pepper. Once everything is well-combined, serve!

IMG_6719

Directions for Spicy Spaghetti with Hazelnuts and Cauliflower (without pictures)

Inspired by a Washington Post recipe

  • 1 head cauliflower, washed and chopped into bite-sized chunks
  • 8 ounces spaghetti
  • Oil
  • Red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • Fresh rosemary, thyme, and parsley (or dried)
  • About 2/3 cup chopped nuts, toasted
  • 2-3 eggs lightly fried or scrambled eggs (see above)
  • 1/3 to 1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste

Begin by bringing a big pot of water to boil. Drop the cauliflower in to cook for just 3 minutes. While they cook, heat a bit of oil and the red pepper flakes in a large saucepan. Add the garlic and herbs after a minute or two. Then add the cauliflower when ready, directly into the pan. Increase the heat to saute the cauliflower. Meanwhile, bring the water back to a boil for the spaghetti. Add the nuts to the cauliflower mixture. When the spaghetti is cooked al dente, stir it in as well. Add the eggs, breaking them up a bit as you stir. Then stir in the cheese and salt/pepper. Once everything is well-combined, serve!

9 thoughts on “Spicy Spaghetti with Hazelnuts and Cauliflower

  1. I LOVE cauliflower and I NEVER seem to eat it. I wonder why that is??? I will have to work on that. Thank you SO MUCH for the shout out! I really appreciate it 😉

  2. This looks great! I love some nuts in my pasta (or anything). I have a big head of cauliflower I’m getting ready to steam up tonight. I love it too and I also don’t cook with it nearly as much as I should…I think we look at it and it seems like a lot of work. Same with cabbage…I’ve rediscovered it lately.

  3. Pingback: Variations on Oat Cookies and Spicy Spaghetti with Hazelnuts | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

