Asian Honey Sesame Chicken

Yay for adding another weeknight meal to the list! After seeing Jaclyn’s recipe at Cooking Classy, I had to try my own version. Who doesn’t love pairing chicken with a sticky sweet sauce? When I made it, there was less sauce then there was sticky chicken, but that was partly because I was waiting for the rice to finish cooking. If you time everything right (or just add more liquid), you could easily have a slightly saucier version. This pairs well with rice, but you could also have it with rolls or a different grain. I tried to make it a bit healthier by not deep frying the chicken..and I also hate deep frying, so there’s that! Hehe.

IMG_6651

I used chicken thighs, but it is part of my Mission: Use all the Freezer Stuff. You could just as easily use chicken breasts. This is one of those fun “brown the meat, make a sauce from what’s left in the pan, then stir it all together” kinds of recipes that I love love love! If I had followed the original recipe, it would not have been at all like that, but it’s what I like to do, so I guess you could say it got the Fudging Ahead treatment. Substituting random ingredients is what we call the Lisa Method. Lisa is the queen of this, which is why it is named for her. I hardly ever see her follow a recipe religiously, which is pretty cool because you can play around with what works.

Do you taste your recipes as you go? I know they say you should, but I can never bring myself to do it. To be honest, I don’t trust my tastebuds as much as my nose. When I cook, I keep smelling and think about what is missing. It seems to work for me, but then again…it’s not like I’m cooking for large groups of people. The one time I do taste test is for batter (breads, cookies, cakes, etc.). I can’t resist a bowl of something sweet, raw egg or not.

Directions for Asian Honey Sesame Chicken

Adapted from Cooking Classy

  • 1.5 pounds chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup panko crumbs
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander (optional–you can add other seasoning, but this paired well with the sides we had)
  • Olive oil
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (optional)
  • Pepper

Start by mixing together the flour, panko crumbs, cornstarch, coriander, and half of the sesame seeds. Roll the chicken pieces in the mixture until all of them are lightly coated. You might need to add more cornstarch/crumbs/etc. if you run out of the coating.

IMG_6642

Heat some oil in a large skillet. When it is shimmering, begin browning the chicken in batches, not cooking all of the way through.

IMG_6643

Add more oil as necessary to keep the chicken from sticking too much. When all of the chicken is browned, set it aside.

IMG_6644

Add 1/4 cup chicken broth to the pan, scraping the browned bits off of the bottom. Add the garlic and green onion, stirring constantly.

IMG_6645

Add the soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, honey, ginger, remaining sesame seeds, and some pepper.

IMG_6646

IMG_6647

Bring the sauce to a simmer, then add the chicken back in to finish cooking.

IMG_6649

Add more chicken broth if you need a bit more sauce.

IMG_6654

IMG_6655

Directions for Asian Honey Sesame Chicken (without pictures)

Adapted from Cooking Classy

  • 1.5 pounds chicken, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup panko crumbs
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1 Tablespoon sesame seeds
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander (optional–you can add other seasoning, but this paired well with the sides we had)
  • Olive oil
  • 1/4 to 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 1 teaspoon rice wine vinegar
  • 3 Tablespoons honey
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger (optional)
  • Pepper

Start by mixing together the flour, panko crumbs, cornstarch, coriander, and half of the sesame seeds. Roll the chicken pieces in the mixture until all of them are lightly coated. You might need to add more cornstarch/crumbs/etc. if you run out of the coating.

Heat some oil in a large skillet. When it is shimmering, begin browning the chicken in batches, not cooking all of the way through. Add more oil as necessary to keep the chicken from sticking too much. When all of the chicken is browned, set it aside. Add 1/4 cup chicken broth to the pan, scraping the browned bits off of the bottom. Add the garlic and green onion, stirring constantly. Add the soy sauce, sesame oil, rice wine vinegar, honey, ginger, remaining sesame seeds, and some pepper. Bring the sauce to a simmer, then add the chicken back in to finish cooking. Add more chicken broth if you need a bit more sauce.

7 thoughts on “Asian Honey Sesame Chicken

  1. I’m with ya on not deep frying. A deep fryer was the only thing Mike cared enough to register for when we got married…and the only thing I put my foot down on. Poor guy. He’ll thank me when he’s old and gray and still kicking.

    I need to vary my chicken recipes. I just picked up a one pot chicken cookbook for a buck at the book sale last weekend so hopefully this is one goal I can stick with.

  2. This is just the kind of thing I wouldn’t be able to stop eating! I don’t deep fry either. I’ve done dredging the chicken in cornstarch and cooking it to give it a light crust but never with panko as well. That must give it that thick crust to soak up all that good sauce. Yum! I also love chicken thighs!

  3. Pingback: Learning to Cook for Three: Part 2 | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

