Buttermilk (Belgian) Waffles

Are you married? Did you have fun picking out your wedding registry items? We started by enjoying it, but realized quickly that there weren’t many household items we didn’t already have. We both had separate homes before getting married (and mine didn’t sell for almost our entire first year of being married–fun times with a bad housing market!), which meant that we had many duplicate items, too. Not only do we currently have about 6 cookie/baking sheets, but 4 muffin pans (I plan on donating 2 of them), glasses for easily 25-30 people, and 2 KitchenAid mixers. Yep, two! One of the few items we did not already own was a waffle maker. I was holding out because waffles are one of those things you want to make and have with someone. You can certainly cut a recipe down and make just a few, and leftover waffles are great–simply freeze or eat later in the week. Reheating in a toaster oven or microwave (depending on if you are a crispy or soft fan) is easy! But, there is something to be said for making waffles for people. My dad always was the waffle maker in our house. I tend to be the waffle maker now, although K is usually in charge of cooking pancakes. I can do them, but he has better luck flipping them. At least waffles don’t require flipping!

IMG_6630

Now, I know waffles are not strenuous to make, although some recipes try to make them that way. I have done many variations, and in general I come back to a basic recipe. We registered for a Belgian waffle maker, which really isn’t much different from normal ones, except they are able to be a bit fluffier. You can use pretty much any waffle recipe for any waffle maker, but you want to make sure that you add just enough batter for your particular maker. Ours uses between 2/3 and 3/4 cup to fill in the holes, but not overflow. You can simply use less batter and still have yummy waffles.

Some of you might feel buttermilk waffles are fancy, but to me they aren’t because I have my super awesome buttermilk powder. I was so happy when America’s Test Kitchen said it is as good as regular buttermilk, except for certain recipes like my buttermilk ice cream where you need the regular liquid. For all of my baking needs with bread and cakes, I have been fine using the powder. It keeps for a long time in the fridge (unlike regular buttermilk), I don’t have to figure out the weird math to do the lemon juice/milk trick (suppose I don’t want a full cup?), and I love watching the powder activate when the water is added (kind of like watching egg dyes when you add the vinegar to the little pill dye things).

This recipe was adapted from the sample recipes that came with my waffle maker. If you do not have a waffle maker, and love waffles, I encourage you to pick one up!

Directions for Buttermilk (Beligan) Waffles

Adapted from Proctor Silex

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
  • 1.5 cups buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 Tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten (I used 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg because I was using up some old egg whites)

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, buttermilk powder (if using), cinnamon (if using), and salt.

IMG_6621

Stir the eggs, melted butter, vanilla, and buttermilk into the flour mixture. Stir until no lumps remain, but be gentle. L

IMG_6622

ightly spray the waffle maker with baking spray when it is preheated. Close the lid for about 10 seconds. Then, open it and pour enough batter for your maker and close the lid.

IMG_6625

Allow to cook until it is lightly golden (the top will be lighter than the bottom), generally about 6 minutes or less depending on your maker. Remove the waffle with your fingers or a fork and place on a baking sheet. Keep the waffles in the oven until ready to serve.

IMG_6624

Spray the waffle maker with baking spray, again closing for about 10 seconds before repeating with another waffle. This recipe should make about 6 Belgian waffles, or even more regular waffles.

IMG_6627

Directions for Buttermilk (Beligan) Waffles (without pictures)

Adapted from Proctor Silex

  • 1.5 cups flour
  • 1.5 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)
  • 1.5 cups buttermilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 4 Tablespoons (1/2 stick) butter, melted
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten (I used 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg because I was using up some old egg whites)

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, buttermilk powder (if using), cinnamon (if using), and salt. Stir the eggs, melted butter, vanilla, and buttermilk into the flour mixture. Stir until no lumps remain, but be gentle. Lightly spray the waffle maker with baking spray when it is preheated. Close the lid for about 10 seconds. Then, open it and pour enough batter for your maker and close the lid. Allow to cook until it is lightly golden (the top will be lighter than the bottom), generally about 6 minutes or less depending on your maker. Remove the waffle with your fingers or a fork and place on a baking sheet. Keep the waffles in the oven until ready to serve. Spray the waffle maker with baking spray, again closing for about 10 seconds before repeating with another waffle. This recipe should make about 6 Belgian waffles, or even more regular waffles.

8 thoughts on “Buttermilk (Belgian) Waffles

  1. Oh, this post is “bad” for me! A waffle maker is one thing I don’t have and I’m trying to keep it that way. Not that I don’t love them – there is a diner nearby that makes a terrific belgian waffle (I like those best with the deep pockets) that I crave all the time. I figure I’ll keep waffles a special “go out and eat” item since my little one seems to prefer pancakes and I’ve finally mastered those. But like ice cream makers and blenders, a waffle maker is one of those kitchen things I always have my eye on…We didn’t register when we got married – what were we thinking!

    Dumb question but where do you find/buy buttermilk powder? Is it in the milk powder aisle?

    • lol! I like our waffle maker because it can be stored in a standing position, and it’s actually pretty tiny. That’s not a dumb question at all, by the way! I’m always wondering where random things are at the store if I haven’t found them before. But, your guess is right–you can find the buttermilk powder by the other milk powders. You store it in the refrigerator. Basically, you add the powder to your dry ingredients and water where you would add the buttermilk. It’s much cheaper than buying buttermilk each time.

  2. I’ve been thinking about getting a waffle maker, but until I reorganize some cabinets I have no place to put it. Might be a while. Be a good thing to ask as a b-day gift. I am a butter and syrup on my waffles kinda girl and find people that put nut butters on their waffles to be highly suspicious.

    • Thanks! Waffle makers unfortunately only do one task (make waffles), but if you like waffles a lot, they’re worth it! The regular waffle makers are nice, too, but we happen to prefer the fluffier Belgian ones.

  3. Pingback: Tips-y Tuesdays: How to Fill Your Waffles | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Guest Bloggers: Cooking for Aly | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

