Devil’s Food Cake and Chocolate Cream Frosting

I know, you were getting worried about me. Over a week of non-dessert posts. You were thinking, where is Aly? What happened to Fudging Ahead?? I don’t want you to be worried anymore. Apparently when you make lots of desserts back to back, you have a backlog of desserts you need to eat before making another one. I wanted to make this chocolate cake as soon as I read about it. Mayonnaise in cake!! I can pretend like I’m cooking vintage-style! And really, it’s a recipe from the Bouchon Bakery cookbook. Of course, they don’t just use the mayo cake in a normal way. No, no, they have to turn it into a Palet d’Or, which is French for “fancy cake with a chocolate glaze”, or at least, that’s the loose translation.

IMG_6423

So, feel free to make this fancy. I chose to bring it down to a 1950s housewife style, which is what I think of with a mayo cake. Basically, the mayo replaces any oil or butter and it makes it super fudgy. This is one of the best chocolate cakes I have had. So, Joanna, when you asked for a chocolate cake recipe, I can vouch for this one. Supposedly it works as cupcakes, too, so I want to try that sometime.

IMG_6412-001

 

I made a few changes to the recipe to make it more Aly-friendly. One of those is not saying “56 g of Eggs” when really, that’s just one normal large egg. For most of the ingredients I did weight because it makes it easy to dump everything in and rely on the scale. For ingredients that are simple without the scale, I did them with volume. I baked this cake in 2 cake pans because I was not sure how it would work (the original recipe was in a sheetpan). Ignore my pictures and bake in one pan (and split later), or have extra fun and double the cake recipe. The cake makes one normal layer, but if you double it, there is still plenty of frosting to cover it. You can see from the pictures that the frosting to cake ratio is pretty high.

I love frosting, but I wish there was more cake. Double the cake part, people!!

I love frosting, but I wish there was more cake. Double the cake part, people!!

I just got some new stuff from King Arthur Flour (KAF), including their cake strips and black cocoa. The cake strips made my cakes the most level I’ve ever had!!

IMG_6370

The black cocoa was gorgeous:

IMG_6360

 

IMG_6363

Directions for Devil’s Food Cake with Chocolate Cream Frosting

Adapted from Bouchon Bakery

Devil’s Food Cake

  • 101 g flour
  • 31 g Dutch-processed cocoa powder (I used half Dutch-processed and half KAF black cocoa)
  • 2.5 g baking soda
  • 0.5 g baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 (large) egg
  • 126 g granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 86 g Mayonnaise (about ¼ cup)
  • ½ cup water, at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Prepare one 8-inch cake pan with parchment paper and baking spray. Using the whisk attachment of a stand mixer, beat the egg, sugar, and vanilla on medium-low speed just to combine, then increase the speed to medium for 5 minutes.

IMG_6358

The mixture will become pale yellow.

IMG_6359

Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as necessary, then raise the speed to medium-high for 5 minutes. During this time, the mixture will thicken and when you lift the whisk, it will form a slowly dissolving ribbon.

IMG_6364

Meanwhile, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and baking powder.

IMG_6361

Then, stir in the salt.

IMG_6362

Beat the mayonnaise into the egg mixture. Alternately fold the dry ingredients and water into the mayo/egg mixture in two batches each.

Like brownie batter!

Like brownie batter, but thinner

Pour the batter into the cake pan making sure the batter is level.

Remember, I did two cake pans, but you can just use one unless you are doubling the recipe.

Remember, I did two cake pans, but you can just use one unless you are doubling the recipe.

Bake for about 25 minutes until the cake springs back when you touch it and a toothpick comes out clean.

IMG_6369

Allow the cake to cool for 10 minutes before removing the cake from the pan. Then, allow it to cool completely before continuing. Before frosting, I recommend wrapping it in clear wrap and chilling in the refrigerator.

Chocolate Cream

  • 333 g heavy cream
  • 233 g chopped dark chocolate
  • 5 (large) egg yolks
  • 1 (large) egg
  • 83 g granulated sugar

Beat the heavy cream with a whisk until you form soft peaks.

IMG_6378

Place it in the fridge to chill while you continue. Melt the chocolate (you can use a double boiler or the microwave).

IMG_6381

Set it aside to cool while you do the next steps.

Using a double boiler (or similar setup: I use the stand mixer bowl in a saucepan), whisk the egg and egg yolks with the sugar in the top of the double boiler over simmering water.

IMG_6380

 

IMG_6382

 

 

 

IMG_6384

Continue whisking, and after 5-7 minutes, when the temperature reaches 183 degrees F, remove from the double boiler and pour into your stand mixer bowl.

IMG_6385

 

Using the whisk attachment, beat the mixture until it thickens on medium-high speed, and has cooled so that the bowl is just warm to the touch.

Isn't it crazy how it went from yellow to white?

Isn’t it crazy how it went from yellow to white?

Additionally, when you lift the whisk the mixture will flow in a slowly dissolving ribbon.

IMG_6388

This will take about 7 minutes.

Whisk one third of the whipped cream into the melted chocolate.

IMG_6387

Fold the egg mixture into the chocolate/cream mixture.

IMG_6389

 

IMG_6390

Then fold in the rest of the whipped cream.

IMG_6391

Frost your cake with this yummy cream!

IMG_6392

 

Giant chocolate Oreo?

Giant chocolate Oreo?

Crumb coat

Crumb coat

 

IMG_6404

I felt it needed sprinkles.

I felt it needed sprinkles.

IMG_6426

Directions for Devil’s Food Cake with Chocolate Cream Frosting (without pictures)

Adapted from Bouchon Bakery

Devil’s Food Cake

  • 101 g flour
  • 31 g Dutch-processed cocoa powder (I used half Dutch-processed and half KAF black cocoa)
  • 2.5 g baking soda
  • 0.5 g baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 (large) egg
  • 126 g granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla
  • 86 g Mayonnaise (about ¼ cup)
  • ½ cup water, at room temperature

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Prepare one 8-inch cake pan with parchment paper and baking spray. Using the whisk attachment of a stand mixer, beat the egg, sugar, and vanilla on medium-low speed just to combine, then increase the speed to medium for 5 minutes. The mixture will become pale yellow. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as necessary, then raise the speed to medium-high for 5 minutes. During this time, the mixture will thicken and when you lift the whisk, it will form a slowly dissolving ribbon.

Meanwhile, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and baking powder. Then, stir in the salt. Beat the mayonnaise into the egg mixture. Alternately fold the dry ingredients and water into the mayo/egg mixture in two batches each. Pour the batter into the cake pan making sure the batter is level. Bake for about 25 minutes until the cake springs back when you touch it and a toothpick comes out clean. Allow the cake to cool for 10 minutes before removing the cake from the pan. Then, allow it to cool completely before continuing. Before frosting, I recommend wrapping it in clear wrap and chilling in the refrigerator.

Chocolate Cream

  • 333 g heavy cream
  • 233 g chopped dark chocolate
  • 5 (large) egg yolks
  • 1 (large) egg
  • 83 g granulated sugar

Beat the heavy cream with a whisk until you form soft peaks. Place it in the fridge to chill while you continue. Melt the chocolate (you can use a double boiler or the microwave). Set it aside to cool while you do the next steps.

Using a double boiler (or similar setup: I use the stand mixer bowl in a saucepan), whisk the egg and egg yolks with the sugar in the top of the double boiler over simmering water. Continue whisking, and after 5-7 minutes, when the temperature reaches 183 degrees F, remove from the double boiler and pour into your stand mixer bowl. Using the whisk attachment, beat the mixture until it thickens on medium-high speed, and has cooled so that the bowl is just warm to the touch. Additionally, when you lift the whisk the mixture will flow in a slowly dissolving ribbon. This will take about 7 minutes.

Whisk one third of the whipped cream into the melted chocolate. Fold the egg mixture into the chocolate/cream mixture. Then fold in the rest of the whipped cream. Frost your cake with this yummy cream!

14 thoughts on “Devil’s Food Cake and Chocolate Cream Frosting

  1. Yum. The Husband would like this. I was a little worried when you said mayo because my first thought was that it was going to be some crazy amount like a cup, but a it’s not so bad. Thanks for the shout out. I will print this recipe and add it to my pile of things to make.

    • I was not sure either, but since that’s where most of the fat comes from, instead of butter/oil, I was like….well…. ok. 🙂 Assuming you have mayo on hand, I like that it’s something you can easily make.

  2. The cake sounds amazing, and great tip about the cake strips working so well. I remember this recipe when I looked through the cookbook. I know it makes sense since mayo is oil and egg yolks but I can’t get over it and not sure I can bring myself to use it in cake. And the tricky thing with books like Bouchon’s or say something from Rose Levy Beranbaum is I want to take some shortcuts but feel guilty about not following their super precise methods. Glad it worked so well for you and happy baking!

    • I understand the hang-up with mayo, but I think this might be my favorite chocolate cake now….so take that for what you will. 🙂 For the cake strips, I saw Wilton has ones that don’t need pins anymore, but they looked more complicated. I definitely like the ones I got.

  3. Pingback: Coffee Buttercream and Chocolate Cake | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Flour’s Make-Ahead Chocolate Cupcakes | fudgingahead

  5. Pingback: Palet d’Or (Rich Chocolate Cake with Chocolate Pastry Cream) | fudgingahead

  6. Pingback: Chocolate Pastry Cream Cups with Candied Hazelnuts | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

