Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

I had been planning on making Chicken Cacciatore for a while, but I never got around to it until I saw this recipe from the Fearless Homemaker and was inspired to make my own version of a slow-cooker Chicken Cacciatore. Slow cooker meals are so great for during the week when I don’t have much time after work to make a meal. I did not cook pasta with the chicken, but rather used a 10-minute farro from Trader Joe’s. It was really good with a great texture that paired well with the sauce. You could also make rice, or go ahead with pasta. I used mushrooms because that is what I think of with Chicken Cacciatore, but other vegetables could be added, too, like peppers.

IMG_5459

This was a good day for the grocery store. I found a discounted can of tomatoes (it was dented), and chicken on sale! It was also nice having such an easy dish to throw together. I think anyone could make this. If you don’t have a slow-cooker, you could just simmer the chicken in the tomatoes on the stove on low heat until the chicken is cooked through.

Directions for Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

  • 3-4 pounds chicken thighs and/or breasts (I used both)
  • Oil
  • 1 cup onion, sliced
  • 2 cups mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme (or use half the amount of dried)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper
  • 28 ounces canned diced tomatoes

In a saucepan, heat some oil. Sprinkle some salt and pepper on the chicken, then brown both sides of the chicken. Set the chicken aside in the crockpot.

IMG_5451

Saute the mushrooms and onion until they are browned enough for your liking.

IMG_5449

Add them and the seasoning on top of the chicken.

IMG_5452

Pour the tomatoes on top.

IMG_5453

Heat on low for about 6 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours.

IMG_5455

Serve over your choice of farro, pasta, rice, or your favorite other starchy side!

IMG_5460

If your sauce is not thick enough, remove the lid and turn up the heat. Continue cooking and stirring occasionally until thickened.

IMG_5455

Directions for Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore (without pictures)

  • 3-4 pounds chicken thighs and/or breasts (I used both)
  • Oil
  • 1 cup onion, sliced
  • 2 cups mushrooms, sliced
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried basil
  • 1 teaspoon fresh thyme (or use half the amount of dried)
  • 1/2 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • Salt and pepper
  • 28 ounces canned diced tomatoes

In a saucepan, heat some oil. Sprinkle some salt and pepper on the chicken, then brown both sides of the chicken. Set the chicken aside in the crockpot. Saute the mushrooms and onion until they are browned enough for your liking. Add them and the seasoning on top of the chicken. Pour the tomatoes on top. Heat on low for about 6 hours, or on high for 3-4 hours. Serve over your choice of farro, pasta, rice, or your favorite other starchy side! If your sauce is not thick enough, remove the lid and turn up the heat. Continue cooking and stirring occasionally until thickened.

10 thoughts on “Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

  1. This is great, Miss Fudging Ahead! I am on Spring Break this week and was thinking of doing a crock pot dish but didn’t want to go to the store in order to do it. This recipe uses ingredients that I have on hand! I’ll use brown rice with it instead of farro because that’s what I have. Starting it now, will let you know how it turns out 🙂

  2. Your Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore sounds and looks wonderful. I love recipes prepared in slow cooker. They are just so easy to prepare and convenience. How nice that you also got great deals at the market. 🙂 Way to go!

  3. Hi Alyssa – so funny…I bought the TJ farro recently to try and we loved it too. *And* I had used it to serve a beef stew I made from the crock pot!! I haven’t used my crock pot more than a handful of times in total and I’m so proud to say I’ve used it twice in the past month. haha. I also made a chicken dish in it. I really want to use my slow cooker more often. I love the feeling of making a big meal and smelling it as it cooks and having it ready in the evening. Very cozy, which is perfect since Spring refuses to come and it’s still so cold! : )

    • That’s too funny! I had only had farro at a restaurant before and it’s a fun new grain to throw in the mix. You should share your beef stew recipe. I love new crockpot recipes. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

