BiRite Buttermilk Ice Cream

This is part 2 of the ice cream cake, or it’s just yummy ice cream that you can pair with cakes, cookies, or just eat it out of a bowl. If you are scared at the idea of using something sour like buttermilk to make ice cream, I promise that this is a good way to get out of a vanilla ice cream comfort box. Basically, this is like a cheesecake kind of ice cream. I made a cheesecake ice cream before, and I did one where I swirled frosting in, but this might be my favorite because it is easier than the second, and softer than the first. And, for those of you who think buttermilk is not as healthy, the low-fat version is actually healthier than 2% milk. Buttermilk is what is left behind after making butter, so that should show you right there that it is lower in fat because you are removing fat with the butter.

IMG_4818

IMG_4663

Now, I did run into some issues with this ice cream, but that was just a string of bad luck. When I made the Midnight Cake, I had a fun mess to clean up from my whisk flinging chocolate everywhere when it flipped out of my bowl. For this ice cream, I had my eggs sitting nicely on my counter. I cracked one in a bowl and the yolk broke, so I had to go get another one from the fridge. I turned around for a second and then bam! One rolled right off and “splat”:

IMG_4645

Another fun mess. You did not want to be around me at this point. Then, a funny thing happened. The doorbell rang, and Cinnamon of Eat, Pray, Tri had sent me a gift! It definitely cheered me up and refocused me.

IMG_4648

Of course, I was silly and put tons of books on hold at the library, so now I have to wait until I get through them first. But, it’s nice to know this is waiting for me!

After all of the drama, I had a nice tasty ice cream that worked well to make an ice cream cake.

Directions from Buttermilk Ice Cream

Adapted from Bi-Rite Creamery

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1.5 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup milk (low-fat is preferred here over whole milk)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

You can make the ice cream base the way you normally do, or you can do it slightly differently with the Bi-Rite method. For this, add half of the sugar to the egg yolks and whisk together in a medium bowl. In a medium saucepan over medium low heat, bring the remaining sugar, salt, cream, and milk (not buttermilk) to a steamy mixture (about 170 degrees).

I added some extra flavor with a grinder I have that has coffee and chocolate in it.

I added some extra flavor with a grinder I have that has coffee and chocolate in it.

Then, ladle some of the mixture into the eggs and stir to temper the eggs before pouring all of it back into the medium saucepan. Continue stirring until you it reaches a temperature of 175 to 180 degrees.

IMG_4647

The base will be thickened. Strain it through a fine-mesh strainer into a bowl set in an ice-water bath. Allow the mixture to cool and then cover and refrigerate it for at least 2 hours. Because of the buttermilk later, you want the base to be completely cold.

Before churning the ice cream, stir in the buttermilk and vanilla extract.

IMG_4653

Churn it and if you are using it in an ice cream cake, you will be using it immediately.

IMG_4659

IMG_4660

Otherwise, freeze it and enjoy!

It goes really well with shortbread--recipe coming soon!

It goes really well with shortbread–recipe coming soon!

Directions from Buttermilk Ice Cream without pictures

Adapted from Bi-Rite Creamery

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1.5 cups heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup milk (low-fat is preferred here over whole milk)
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 Tablespoon vanilla extract

You can make the ice cream base the way you normally do, or you can do it slightly differently with the Bi-Rite method. For this, add half of the sugar to the egg yolks and whisk together in a medium bowl. In a medium saucepan over medium low heat, bring the remaining sugar, salt, cream, and milk (not buttermilk) to a steamy mixture (about 170 degrees). Then, ladle some of the mixture into the eggs and stir to temper the eggs before pouring all of it back into the medium saucepan. Continue stirring until you it reaches a temperature of 175 to 180 degrees. The base will be thickened. Strain it through a fine-mesh strainer into a bowl set in an ice-water bath. Allow the mixture to cool and then cover and refrigerate it for at least 2 hours. Because of the buttermilk later, you want the base to be completely cold.

Before churning the ice cream, stir in the buttermilk and vanilla extract. Churn it and if you are using it in an ice cream cake, you will be using it immediately. Otherwise, freeze it and enjoy!

4 thoughts on “BiRite Buttermilk Ice Cream

  1. I’ve been on an ice cream kick lately. I am printing this and going to make it soon. Maybe I will make it for Mike’s birthday and add some crushed Oreos. Yes, it’s been decided. Hmmm… I don’t have a thermometer but I do need an errand for the day so this may be it. Do you recommend a certain kind???

  2. Pingback: Buttermilk (Belgian) Waffles | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Buttermilk Ice Cream | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

