Coconut Chicken with Rice Vermicelli

Since buying coconut oil, I have been looking for different ways to use it. I was going to make this dish, but not originally with any coconut. I thought about it and wondered what would happen if I added it at the beginning, and layered everything on top. I figured the “worst” case was that you just would not taste it. It turns out, the flavor carried through clear to the end. It is not as strong as if you used coconut milk, but it’s a simple addition. If you don’t have coconut oil, or just don’t want to use it, then feel free to leave it out and enjoy the other flavors more.

IMG_3707

Directions for Coconut Chicken with Rice Vermicelli

  • 3-4 servings of rice vermicelli, prepared according to the package directions
  • 1 Tablespoon Coconut oil
  • Oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 pounds chicken thighs, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 4 Tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • 2 thin slices of ginger (about 1 inch in diameter)
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon hoisin sauce

Heat the coconut oil and a little extra regular oil in a pan over medium heat until shimmering. Add the ginger, garlic, and 2 Tablespoons chopped green onions. Meanwhile, toss together the chicken, cornstarch, sesame oil, half of the soy sauce, rice vinegar, and 1 Tablespoon green onion.

IMG_3697

After a couple minutes of stirring around the ginger mixture, stir in the chicken mixture, allowing the chicken to brown a bit.

IMG_3698

Continue cooking until the chicken is no longer pink.

I added in some cilantro at this point, just for kicks.

I added in some cilantro at this point, just for kicks.

Add the noodles, remaining soy sauce and green onions, hoisin sauce, and cilantro.

IMG_3700

Stir until everything is heated through and well-mixed.

IMG_3702

Directions for Coconut Chicken with Rice Vermicelli (without pictures)

  • 3-4 servings of rice vermicelli, prepared according to the package directions
  • 1 Tablespoon Coconut oil
  • Oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 pounds chicken thighs, cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 green onions, chopped
  • 4 Tablespoons cilantro, chopped
  • 2 thin slices of ginger (about 1 inch in diameter)
  • 1 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon sesame oil
  • 2 Tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 Tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1/2 teaspoon hoisin sauce

Heat the coconut oil and a little extra regular oil in a pan over medium heat until shimmering. Add the ginger, garlic, and 2 Tablespoons chopped green onions. Meanwhile, toss together the chicken, cornstarch, sesame oil, half of the soy sauce, rice vinegar, and 1 Tablespoon green onion. After a couple minutes of stirring around the ginger mixture, stir in the chicken mixture, allowing the chicken to brown a bit. Continue cooking until the chicken is no longer pink.

Add the noodles, remaining soy sauce and green onions, hoisin sauce, and cilantro. Stir until everything is heated through and well-mixed.

6 thoughts on “Coconut Chicken with Rice Vermicelli

    • I’d say it’s moderate. You could definitely taste it, so if you don’t like coconut, leave it out, but if you do, I think it would be enough. I like that I didn’t have to open a whole can of coconut milk to get the flavor.

  1. Yum! I love rice noodles (most noodles in general are my weakness). I used to make soup rice noodles a lot…not sure what happened. I think you’ve inspired me to toss some together soon. (Also, I don’t use rice vinegar a lot in my Asian cooking and I really should.)

      • I made stir-fry vermicelli for dinner tonight (I used beef)! Thanks for the inspiration. : ) And I’ve put my bottle of rice wine vinegar in the kitchen cupboard so I’ll use it more often. I’ve moved a few things closer to me in the kitchen so I’ll remember to cook with them more often.

Share Your Thoughts

