Baked Sole with Tomatoes, Onions, and Potatoes

Have you started the new year with resolutions to not bake as many desserts as you did during the holidays? This recipe is a good detox recipe. The breadcrumbs are super light, and it’s baked, so you get a moist bite of fish without a fatty coating weighing it down. The directions will be a bit different than what I did because I wanted to make some changes. When we had the leftovers, I re-cooked part of the dish and it was even better, so I will share those tips with you.

IMG_3650-001

 

Back to resolutions…I should admit that I never really do resolutions. The closest I came was during college. I used to set goals for each year, and usually I met them, although they required some effort. I tried to make them realistic enough that I could attain them. What’s the point of goals you know you can’t ever do? I guess some people work well with that, but I like concrete ideas. For some reason, a new calendar year was never as inspiring for me. Thinking about it for this post, I would say that I would like to continue to post on here on a regular basis, continue to push myself with trying new recipes, and do a little more planning for the following year. We’re not sure what will happen in the next few years, but we hope to buy a forever-home, or at least a “long-term settling down home”. This means I need to think ahead about it, including getting rid of more things!

Some people ask me if I cook healthy food. As you can see by my desserts, I believe in cooking the “real” dish most of the time and just eating less of it to still feel satisfied. Occasionally I will remove some butter or other things if I feel a recipe does not need it. My dad asked me about it for a cookie recipe he was making. It is important to keep your health in mind, but change other ingredients along with the butter to keep the correct texture. If I remove some butter, I will usually remove some flour, too. I have seen some brownie recipes that call for a ton of butter, but they can be challenging to edit. My rule of thumb with brownies is that I will not even entertain the idea of making a batch that uses more than 1 stick of butter per 8×8 pan. It just seems excessive, and I have plenty of recipes that follow this guideline while tasting amazing. For non-baking recipes, like this fish recipe, I do look for some healthy substitutions a bit more. There is a chili recipe I plan on posting soon, and I made a few substitutions to help with the nutrition. Learn what changes you can make that still keep you (and others you cook for) happy.

Directions for Baked Sole with Tomatoes, Onions, and Potatoes (aka Sole Oreganata)

Adapted from Lidia’s Italian-American Kitchen

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 pound potatoes (use whatever kind you like)
  • Salt/Pepper
  • 1/2 cup dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon-pepper seasoning (or 1 teaspoon lemon zest)
  • 1/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese (optional)
  • 1 onion (preferably a sweet one), sliced
  • 2 large tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 pound sole

Place the garlic in the olive oil and let it sit at room temperature.

IMG_3634

Meanwhile, boil the potatoes in water for about 30 minutes, until fork-tender. Alternatively, you can roast them in the oven and serve them on the side, but toss them with seasoning first. If boiling, slice into thin pieces after they are cooked. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and prepare a 9×13 baking dish. Stir together with a fork the breadcrumbs, parsley, oregano, lemon-pepper seasoning, half of the cheese (if using), and salt/pepper (to taste).

With optional cheese

With optional cheese

Stir in about 2 teaspoons of the garlic-oil. Once the crumbs are evenly moistened, set them aside. Saute the onion with some of the garlic-oil. After a few minutes, add in the tomatoes and cook until softened.

This was the major part I changed. They did not cook enough in the oven, so I cooked them down later on the stove. Much better!

This was the major part I changed. They did not cook enough in the oven, so I cooked them down later on the stove. Much better!

Layer the potatoes, onions, and tomatoes in the baking dish. Drizzle some of the garlic-oil on top, then sprinkle them lightly with the breadcrumb mixture.

IMG_3643

Place the fish on top, sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper, then pour the remaining oil on top, along with the breadcrumbs.

IMG_3644

Feel free to sprinkle more oregano or parsley on top.

Bake until the sole is cooked through (about 20-25 minutes). Serve with the remaining cheese sprinkled on top (if using).

IMG_3647

Directions for Baked Sole with Tomatoes, Onions, and Potatoes (aka Sole Oreganata) without pictures

Adapted from Lidia’s Italian-American Kitchen

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 pound potatoes (use whatever kind you like)
  • Salt/Pepper
  • 1/2 cup dried breadcrumbs
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/4 teaspoon lemon-pepper seasoning (or 1 teaspoon lemon zest)
  • 1 onion (preferably a sweet one), sliced
  • 2 large tomatoes, sliced
  • 1 pound sole

Place the garlic in the olive oil and let it sit at room temperature. Meanwhile, boil the potatoes in water for about 30 minutes, until fork-tender. Alternatively, you can roast them in the oven and serve them on the side, but toss them with seasoning first. If boiling, slice into thin pieces after they are cooked. Set aside.

Preheat the oven to 425 degrees and prepare a 9×13 baking dish. Stir together with a fork the breadcrumbs, parsley, oregano, lemon-pepper seasoning, half of the cheese (if using), and salt/pepper (to taste). Stir in about 2 teaspoons of the garlic-oil. Once the crumbs are evenly moistened, set them aside. Saute the onion with some of the garlic-oil. After a few minutes, add in the tomatoes and cook until softened. Layer the potatoes, onions, and tomatoes in the baking dish. Drizzle some of the garlic-oil on top, then sprinkle them lightly with the breadcrumb mixture. Place the fish on top, sprinkle with a bit of salt and pepper, then pour the remaining oil on top, along with the breadcrumbs. Bake until the sole is cooked through (about 20-25 minutes). Serve with the remaining cheese sprinkled on top (if using).

IMG_3651

2 thoughts on “Baked Sole with Tomatoes, Onions, and Potatoes

  1. Have you ever tried a citrus other than lemon with fish? I usually use lemon too but for some reason this post made me wonder if other citrus’s would work here also. Although I have a full bag of lemons in the fridge right now so perhaps I shouldn’t question . . .

    • I haven’t, but I feel like you could. Lime goes well with shrimp (as does lemon) so lime would be an easy swap. I’ve done orange and apricot with chicken before and that was good, so I feel like it could go well with fish, too.

Share Your Thoughts

