Strawberry and Blueberry “Curd”

What do you have planned for your holidays? I am not sure if I will make anything when I go back home or not. It’s always hard not having my supplies with me. I like having my certain pots and utensils. Some recipes will look easy but then I realize they are only easy while I am in my own kitchen and not necessarily when I am with someone else. I think this could be one of those dishes I could make in a different kitchen because it does not require anything fancy. You can feel free to use other fruit, too, but adjust the sugar levels if you plan on using sweeter or less sweet fruit. I used frozen fruit and it was fine.

 

This is a special week of dessert dishes. Basically, I went looking through some books and was inspired to make a cake and an ice cream using some of the same ingredients. This first recipe was inspired by Sprinklebake’s Blackberry Curd. It has such a fabulous color and I wanted to make a strawberry curd. Unfortunately, I was tired and totally misread the directions, so I ended up creating my own curd. It ended up being perfect, even if it is not quite as thick as normal curd recipes are. To give you an idea of what’s coming, it did work well swirled in ice cream, as well as to top a cake. Once chilled it is less runny. One other clue/pairing idea: it pairs well with cheesecake-flavored items, such as liquid cheesecake frosting. You can see how to make the liquid cheesecake frosting here.

So, if you want to keep up with these posts, I recommend making this curd and the liquid cheesecake before Wednesday. On Wednesday, report back for your next tasks!

Directions for Strawberry and Blueberry “Curd”

  • 3/4 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 3 Tablespoons cold butter, divided

Using your food processor, puree the strawberries and blueberries (you will notice that my blueberries are added later, so it does not matter). In a small saucepan over medium heat, stir together the fruit, sugar, and water.

Bring to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes, continuing to stir.

 

Lower the heat a bit. Whisk in the egg yolks.

 

Your eggs might scramble a bit, but try to avoid it. Continue to cook over low heat for about 10 minutes to thicken the mixture. Remove the pan from the heat and whisk in one tablespoon of butter at a time, letting each one melt before adding the next.

 

Use a strainer to help get rid of any unwanted solids (like my blueberry skins).

 

Pour into a container and chill until ready to use.

Directions for Strawberry and Blueberry “Curd” without pictures

  • 3/4 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 3 Tablespoons cold butter, divided

Using your food processor, puree the strawberries and blueberries (you will notice that my blueberries are added later, so it does not matter). In a small saucepan over medium heat, stir together the fruit, sugar, and water. Bring to a simmer and cook for about 10 minutes, continuing to stir. Lower the heat a bit. Whisk in the egg yolks. Your eggs might scramble a bit, but try to avoid it. Continue to cook over low heat for about 10 minutes to thicken the mixture. Remove the pan from the heat and whisk in one tablespoon of butter at a time, letting each one melt before adding the next. Use a strainer to help get rid of any unwanted solids (like my blueberry skins). Pour into a container and chill until ready to use.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry and Blueberry “Curd”

    • You can move in, but we only have 2 bedrooms, so your family might be squeezed in a bit. 😀 And for full disclosure…you know those people who post about their workouts and are crazy into it? I probably work out harder than most of them. I just feel weird writing about it. 🙂 K runs almost everyday, so that’s his secret.

Share Your Thoughts

