Slow Cooker Indian Butter Chicken

As promised, I have been using my slow cooker some more this year. So far, it has been used for this dish and another dish (to be posted soon). I actually forgot when I came home that I had food cooking. I thought I was smelling the neighbor’s food or something. This was an easy dish with very little prep work. Some slow cooker meals require lots of chopping and sometimes sauteing, too! This is not one of those. It’s more of the “dump everything together” kind of dish.

I challenge you to take a good picture of butter chicken. So hard!

I absolutely love butter chicken, which is why I was initially disappointed with this. My bar is super high because of a place I visit back home. Their butter chicken is amazing! Super creamy and probably super bad for me. But, after I got over the initial “this doesn’t taste exactly like the restaurant version”, I appreciated it for what it was (an easy, still yummy, Indian dish that I could have waiting for me after a long day). I am including a few changes in the recipe below to account for what I will do next time. Basically, less cardamon, and possibly adding some cream in the end.

If you want an easy idea for leftovers, I discovered that this worked really well with eggs. I heated a portion and then added it to a skillet where I was scrambling eggs. Mixed together, and adding a bit of cream….oooh man. Super good. I used egg whites and barely a teaspoon of the cream, so it was still pretty healthy. I used egg whites and regular eggs. I might have preferred the egg whites a bit because they worked well with the heavier butter chicken.

Keep in mind that I basically dumped every Indian spice I owned into this dish. If you are missing one, you are probably still fine. If you are missing a few of them, try buying a new one. If you are curious about a specific spice, feel free to ask me! Some of them are less scary and strong than you would expect (especially in small quantities). Also, this dish is not spicy, so if you want it to be, feel free to add your favorite spicy seasoning.

Directions for Slow Cooker Indian Butter Chicken

  • 1 can (about 14 oz) coconut milk
  • 2 pounds chicken (cut into chicken tenders; breast or thigh meat is fine)
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 can (about 8 oz) tomato paste
  • 4 Tablespoons butter (or butter alternative is fine)
  • 4 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamon seeds (if you don’t want them in the final dish, feel free to use pods instead and remove them at the end–you can sew them together)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon all-spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 4 Tablespoons heavy cream (optional)

Put the onion and garlic in the slow cooker. Place the chicken on top. Sprinkle with the curry powder, cumin, cardamon, cinnamon, paprika, nutmeg, all-spice, and turmeric.

Turn the chicken and rub the spices on the pieces. Stir in the coconut milk, lemon juice, and tomato paste.

Dot the butter on top. Cook for about 6-7 hours on low.

When I removed the lid I was a little worried, but stirring makes a world of difference!

IMG_3207

During the last 15 minutes, stir in the yogurt and heavy cream (if using).

Directions for Slow Cooker Indian Butter Chicken without pictures

  • 1 can (about 14 oz) coconut milk
  • 2 pounds chicken (cut into chicken tenders; breast or thigh meat is fine)
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 1 can (about 8 oz) tomato paste
  • 4 Tablespoons butter (or butter alternative is fine)
  • 4 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon cardamon seeds (if you don’t want them in the final dish, feel free to use pods instead and remove them at the end–you can sew them together)
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon all-spice
  • 1/4 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup yogurt
  • 4 Tablespoons heavy cream (optional)

Put the onion and garlic in the slow cooker. Place the chicken on top. Sprinkle with the curry powder, cumin, cardamon, cinnamon, paprika, nutmeg, all-spice, and turmeric. Turn the chicken and rub the spices on the pieces. Stir in the coconut milk, lemon juice, and tomato paste. Dot the butter on top. Cook for about 6-7 hours on low. During the last 15 minutes, stir in the yogurt and heavy cream (if using).

4 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Indian Butter Chicken

  1. I’ve tried indian food like two or three times and just can’t find anything I like. I wonder if butter chicken was one of the things I had. Sigh. Woe is me. Thai food on the other hand…..

Share Your Thoughts

