Cookie Butter Rice Krispie Treats

To end the month of November, I am giving you two easy ways of making desserts with Biscoff (aka cookie butter aka Speculoos). The first is taking a staple for many homes: rice krispie treats, and adding a nice creamy swirl. I have only ever made rice krispie treats twice before. My mom never really made them for us because she was so well-known for her chocolate chip cookies. One of her friends would make them and I used to think that they must be really hard to make if my mom didn’t make them. Ah well. Love you, Mom! No hard feelings? Besides, I know plenty of kids were jealous of my mom’s cooking.

So, back to my treats. I don’t think I would want to have them without the spread now. It adds a deeper flavor, and I think it makes them a little less sweet, which is great for an adult palate. For kids, it might be best to make them half and half.

Directions for Cookie Butter Rice Krispie Treats

  • 1 Tablespoon butter
  • 2 cups marshmallows
  • Pinch of salt
  • 3 cups rice krispie cereal
  • 1/2 cup cookie butter

Melt the butter in a medium sauce pan.

Add the marshmallows and melt them over low heat until they melt and become liquidy.

Stir in the rice krispies and the salt.

Set aside. In the same pan, soften the cookie butter. Mix the rice krispie/marshmallows back into the pan and stir together. Spread in a lightly greased 8×8 pan. If the treats are sticking to your hands, dampen your hands with water to help flatten them out. Let cool before cutting into squares.

3 thoughts on “Cookie Butter Rice Krispie Treats

  1. YOU’VE ONLY MADE RICE KRISPIES TWICE BEFORE???? I am concerned for you. At least you are making up for it now so it’s all good. I have made rice krispies with a mint chocolate bar mixed in before and that was super good too.

    • Haha. I just thought they were hard to make–now that I know they are easy, I will hopefully whip them up more often. Of course, my other problem is having enough of the cereal and marshmallows around 😦

  2. Pingback: Cornflake Rice Krispie Chocolate Chip Marshmallow Cookies | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

