Tandy Cakes aka Tasty Kakes or Kandy Kakes

I’ve talked before about how my mom used to make birthday treats for my family depending on what we liked. She started getting fancy and one year made me two desserts! Some cheesecake/black bottom dessert along with the dessert that I am sharing with you today. The recipe comes from some old school fundraiser cookbook (people submit recipes and the proceeds are for the school). I have changed it up very slightly, but it still is basically the same dessert. This is perfect for sharing with you right before Thanksgiving, just in case you are looking for an easy recipe with simple ingredients that can feed a crowd. (Or not–we would freeze about half and would eat them later, only slightly worse for wear).

My mom tried to help me make it one time and I did a horrible job! You make the cake, and then spread peanut butter across the top. Well, it did not work so well for me and I ended up ripping off parts of the cake as I spread. So, my mom had to take over for that part. It has been many years later, and I am more experienced, but I did not want to make the same mistakes, so I decided to throw in some safety precautions: namely, melting the peanut butter. You can choose to do it or not. It is possible to do it without, but I was not going to take any chances. Also, you can use some cookie butter either for half of the peanut butter, or to replace it entirely if that is your speed. This dessert is designed to taste like KandyKakes which, if you’ve never had, are mini sponge cakes with a layer of peanut butter covered in chocolate. Because we are making these in a pan, they won’t be covered in chocolate, but it’s still fine and I like that you can enjoy the cake part more this way.

Both the peanut butter and Biscoff varieties were good, so go with what you like. I split the pan because I am a huge peanut butter fan, but my husband is not so much. If you haven’t had the Biscoff spread yet, it’s also called Biscrips, Speculoos, or just cookie butter. It has a cinnamon flavor to it, and it’s a little more firm than standard peanut butter. You can buy it at random discount stores, Trader Joe’s, or even some super markets.

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving (if you celebrate it) and a relaxing weekend! I am super excited to see my family, especially my nephew who is now walking!!

Directions for Tandy Cakes

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup peanut butter (or 1/2 cup peanut butter and 1/2 cup cookie butter)
  • 12 oz chocolate chips (or chopped chocolate)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a large cookie sheet (one with sides) by greasing it and flouring it, or using a parchment liner paper.

A half-sheet pan is perfect (if it’s smaller, the bars will be thicker). Beat the eggs with your mixer.

Add in the butter, sugar, vanilla, milk, and baking powder. I sifted the flour into the mixture, although it’s not absolutely necessary.

Beat for a few minutes until everything is smooth.

It’s ok if your cake looks like this. I am not sure why it does, but it baked up just fine!

Pour evenly into the pan and bake for about 20 minutes until the cake is firm, but not browned.

While it is baking, prepare the peanut butter and/or cookie butter. To make things easier, melt them most of the way in the microwave or in saucepans.

When the cake is ready, pull it out and spread the peanut butter and/or cookie butter on top using an offset spatula. Then, pour the chocolate on top. Again, use a spatula to help spread the chocolate. As you spread the chips around, they will melt into a smooth frosting (I promise!).

When everything is spread evenly, allow the cake to cool to room temperature before chilling in the refrigerator for a least one hour. Cut into squares to serve.

Directions for Tandy Cakes without pictures

  • 4 eggs
  • 2 Tablespoons melted butter
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 cup peanut butter (or 1/2 cup peanut butter and 1/2 cup cookie butter)
  • 12 oz chocolate chips (or chopped chocolate)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Prepare a large cookie sheet (one with sides) by greasing it and flouring it, or using a parchment liner paper. A half-sheet pan is perfect (if it’s smaller, the bars will be thicker). Beat the eggs with your mixer. Add in the butter, sugar, vanilla, milk, and baking powder. I sifted the flour into the mixture, although it’s not absolutely necessary.

Beat for a few minutes until everything is smooth. Pour evenly into the pan and bake for about 20 minutes until the cake is firm, but not browned.

While it is baking, prepare the peanut butter and/or cookie butter. To make things easier, melt them most of the way in the microwave or in saucepans. When the cake is ready, pull it out and spread the peanut butter and/or cookie butter on top using an offset spatula. Then, pour the chocolate on top. Again, use a spatula to help spread the chocolate. As you spread the chips around, they will melt into a smooth frosting (I promise!). When everything is spread evenly, allow the cake to cool to room temperature before chilling in the refrigerator for a least one hour. Cut into squares to serve.

6 thoughts on “Tandy Cakes aka Tasty Kakes or Kandy Kakes

  1. I love this cake! Excellent for parties and for me to bring to work. Love the chocolate chips on top as the frosting. Delicious texture.., yummy at always 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

