Jambalaya with a side of Cumin Carrots

It is always fun to take recipes that you have heard of, and that look a bit complicated, and find out that they are pretty simple. Thanks to Jonathan at Candid Appetite I have discovered Jambalaya is one of those dishes. I made a few changes, so I am putting it here for my own memory, but also for people to see a slight variation of such an awesome recipe. You can find his Jambalaya recipe here. Be warned, though…this dish makes mad leftovers. We had well-sized portions, but there were still at least 8 more servings left! If you prefer a non-traditional Thanksgiving dinner, this might be perfectly sized for your family. You can turn up or down the heat, and you can also play with the protein. Jonathan called for chicken, andouille sausage, and shrimp. Since we are not fans of that kind of sausage, I used other sausage (leftover from what I bought for this sausage recipe) and just shrimp. The chicken would have been too much for us to appreciate. I also decided to have some fun with carrots, so there is a bonus recipe in this, too!

With the chilly rainy weather thoroughly back in Seattle, it is time for warm dishes like this one. I am plotting out future food I reserve for this time of year. It’s a great time to bring out my crockpot. If you have any recipes, feel free to share links/recipes! I plan on having at least one on the blog this fall/winter.

While at the grocery store, I was tempted by carrots with their leaves still attached. Until recently, I had never prepared non-baby carrots before. I had always stuck to the bagged kind because they were so easy. They are still easy for snacking, but I am fascinated by the regular ones now. Peeling them is fun for me because I never had a good peeler before (thanks to K!). I figured that the leaves of the carrots should be useful for something so I did some research. Did you know that carrots are related to parsley and cumin? That’s why they pair so well together. So, that was enough for me. K does not like parsley but he does like cumin, so I decided to work these ideas into the meal.

Directions for Jambalaya

Adapted from The Candid Appetite

  • 2 pounds sausage, sliced
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bell peppers, diced
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup chopped celery
  • 2 Tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1 cup tomato, chopped
  • 3 cups rice, rinsed and uncooked
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley or carrot leaves
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • Salt/Pepper/Oil as needed (not specifically in recipe below, but season as you wish)

Begin by browning the sausage in a large pot (my 5 quart Dutch oven was filled!).

Brown in batches so that you are not just steaming the meat. Remove the sausage and set aside.

Look at the browning! I cut the sausages differently because K doesn’t like chicken sausage (I mixed chicken and pork together).

Add to the pan the onion and garlic, stirring and cooking for a few minutes to soften.

If the sausage did not provide enough grease for the pan, add a bit of oil.

I didn’t need to add any extra oil.

After the onion has softened and browned a little,

add the celery and bell peppers.

After about 4-5 minutes, add in the tomato paste, bay leaves, thyme, oregano, jalapeno, some pepper, and tomato.

Cook for about 3 minutes then add the stock.

Bring to a boil and add the sausage and rice. Return to a boil, then turn the heat to low and cover the pot. Let it simmer for 20 minutes.

At that point, add the shrimp, green onion, carrot leaves, and lemon juice.

Stir to combine. Turn off the heat and cover for 15 minutes. This will cook the shrimp, so don’t get nervous. At this point, the liquid should mostly be absorbed and everything hot!

You can serve it with more leaves/green onion on top if desired.

Directions for Cumin Carrots

  • 1-1.5 pounds carrots
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a baking dish. Cut the carrots into small discs. Toss them with enough olive oil and cumin to evenly coat the discs.

Place in a flat layer in the baking dish and bake for about 30 minutes until fork-tender.

Directions for Jambalaya without pictures

Adapted from The Candid Appetite

  • 2 pounds sausage, sliced
  • 1 pound shrimp, peeled
  • 1 large onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 bell peppers, diced
  • 1/2 cup to 1 cup chopped celery
  • 2 Tablespoons tomato paste
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1 cup tomato, chopped
  • 3 cups rice, rinsed and uncooked
  • 6 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley or carrot leaves
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • Salt/Pepper/Oil as needed (not specifically in recipe below, but season as you wish)

Begin by browning the sausage in a large pot (my 5 quart Dutch oven was filled!). Brown in batches so that you are not just steaming the meat. Remove the sausage and set aside. Add to the pan the onion and garlic, stirring and cooking for a few minutes to soften. If the sausage did not provide enough grease for the pan, add a bit of oil. After the onion has softened and browned a little, add the celery and bell peppers. After about 4-5 minutes, add in the tomato paste, bay leaves, thyme, oregano, jalapeno, some pepper, and tomato. Cook for about 3 minutes then add the stock.

Bring to a boil and add the sausage and rice. Return to a boil, then turn the heat to low and cover the pot. Let it simmer for 20 minutes. At that point, add the shrimp, green onion, carrot leaves, and lemon juice. Stir to combine. Turn off the heat and cover for 15 minutes. This will cook the shrimp, so don’t get nervous. At this point, the liquid should mostly be absorbed and everything hot! You can serve it with more leaves/green onion on top if desired.

Directions for Cumin Carrots without pictures

  • 1-1.5 pounds carrots
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Olive oil

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a baking dish. Cut the carrots into small discs. Toss them with enough olive oil and cumin to evenly coat the discs. Place in a flat layer in the baking dish and bake for about 30 minutes until fork-tender.

6 thoughts on “Jambalaya with a side of Cumin Carrots

  1. Wow, this dish is PRETTY! We are big jambalaya fans over here. When we moved to our last house we found a local restaurant that served the best southern food…bourbon chicken, gumbo, jambalaya, crawfish, ten different shrimp dishes on Saturdays! We went weekly for a really long time till the place shut down so the owner could focus on catering which apparently he made way more money at. Sniff sniff. I really need dishes I can make and freeze for lunches and leftovers and I think if I swap the shrimp for chicken this dish will freeze perfectly. Hopefully when I make it and snap pictures for my Aly series I will not get it all over my camera strap like I did with the soup. Yeah, I did. It’s funny about the carrots because I asked a farmer at the market this year if the carrot greens were edible and he said yes, if I were a hamster. Ha! I should have just googled it instead.

    • Thanks! I was super happy with how it tasted and looked. It definitely works for freezing–we have a ton of it in the freezer now. Don’t worry about soup on the strap. I get stuff all over my camera all the time. Mostly flour 😦

  2. I was so excited to see this one! It looks SO delicious! I love the mix of meat and veggies you decided on. Glad it all went so well. And yay for the bonus!! I didn’t know that about carrots and its relations.

  3. wow. wow. wow. that looks amazing. I think I have only had jambalaya once(?) in my life and I remember loving it. I think it had potato salad on top? Does that sound right? Maybe I am thinking of gumbo? What is the difference. I don’t know why I’m all a fluster…must be because it looks soo good!!

    • I don’t know if I’ve ever had real jambalaya before. This was definitely good. I don’t know all of the nuances with gumbo/etc. but potato salad on top sounds intriguing. Just like I told Joanna, this makes tons of leftovers, so great for family cooking. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

