Roasted Vegetable Soup

All of a sudden it got cold here. I think I’m being a bit of a baby, though, because I feel frozen but check the temperature and it’s not nearly as cold as I think it is. So, apparently living in Seattle has changed my ideas of “cold” and “warm”. That didn’t take long! I can’t wait until I visit Maryland and see snow. You will find me curled up under many blankets wanting hot soup and hot chocolate.

So, that was the inspiration for this soup. I saw a few variations on the internet. My main inspiration was from An Edible Mosaic. I used the same idea and mostly the same flavors. One sort of big change was using an immersion blender and leaving some chunks in the soup. Creamy soups can be nice, but I get bored if I don’t have any other textures. So, I liked being able to leave noticeable pieces of the roasted vegetables. The immersion blender also makes the soup much easier to make. I try not to be a major tool snob, but it really does work better than a regular blender. If you don’t have one, feel free to use a blender, but that’s one more container you have to wash, and then you have to bring the soup back up to simmering. My method allows you to keep it all in one pot.

This is a great soup for this time of year. K even said that “it tastes like fall”. You could make it during the winter, too, and just use whatever spices and vegetables you have that go together. The sprig of rosemary I used on top of the dish was actually really tasty, so I could see taking the seasoning in a different direction using rosemary, thyme, and more garlic.

Please note that the amounts are approximate, and you can use more or less of the vegetables. You could even switch some out or add more.

Directions for Roasted Vegetable Soup

Adapted from An Edible Mosaic

  • 1 pound of carrots (peeled and cut into small pieces)
  • 1 large apple (cored and cut into small pieces)
  • 1 parsnip (peeled and cut into small pieces)
  • 1 pound potatoes (cut into small pieces)
  • All-purpose seasoning
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Tablespoon butter (or butter alternative)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • Ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Toss the vegetables (and apple) with some all-purpose seasoning and olive oil so that they are evenly coated. Spread out onto a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for about 30 minutes until lightly browned.

In a large pot, heat the butter with the paprika. I got the butter to almost brown.

If you are using an alternative, just heat it until it gets really hot and sizzling. At this point, stir in the garlic, turmeric, coriander, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Add a splash of chicken broth to prevent the herbs from sticking or burning.

After a minute, add the rest of the broth and the water. Stir in the vegetables.

Use an immersion blender to cream the sauce. Leave as many or as few chunks as you would like.

Use a big pot because it will splash a bit with the blender!

Season with some freshly ground pepper. Without an immersion blender, you can use a regular blender, but bring the soup back up to temperature before serving.

Directions for Roasted Vegetable Soup without pictures

Adapted from An Edible Mosaic

  • 1 pound of carrots (peeled and cut into small pieces)
  • 1 large apple (cored and cut into small pieces)
  • 1 parsnip (peeled and cut into small pieces)
  • 1 pound potatoes (cut into small pieces)
  • All-purpose seasoning
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Tablespoon butter (or butter alternative)
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon turmeric
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • Ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Toss the vegetables (and apple) with some all-purpose seasoning and olive oil so that they are evenly coated. Spread out onto a foil-lined baking sheet. Bake for about 30 minutes until lightly browned.

In a large pot, heat the butter with the paprika. I got the butter to almost brown. If you are using an alternative, just heat it until it gets really hot and sizzling. At this point, stir in the garlic, turmeric, coriander, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Add a splash of chicken broth to prevent the herbs from sticking or burning. After a minute, add the rest of the broth and the water. Stir in the vegetables. Use an immersion blender to cream the sauce. Leave as many or as few chunks as you would like. Season with some freshly ground pepper. Without an immersion blender, you can use a regular blender, but bring the soup back up to temperature before serving.

9 thoughts on “Roasted Vegetable Soup

  1. I made parsnip fries once, but other than that I don’t think I’ve done much with them. This soup sure is pretty.

    Oh, hey by the way, I started reading your first posts on here and am totally making your fudge as soon as I get some ingredients from the grocery this afternoon.

    • How were the fries? I’ve never made them before. The soup was super comforting, and not too hard. 🙂

      That’s cool that you’re making the fudge!! I never took any pictures of it so I wasn’t able to post them on here. I used to make it so often that I have been fudged out for a while. Maybe in this next year 🙂 Let me know how it turns out.

  2. I asked my mom to get me an immersion blender for Christmas. She was like “a whuuuut?” haha…so I had to tell her to google it to figure out what it was. I’m pretty excited about it. Who wants to wash ANOTHER thing? Not me thats for sure! 😉
    And is it weird that I am totally missing the cold Seattle weather right now??? Its ok, I know it is….

    • I love that you just have to wash the wand part. It is definitely way easier than a regular blender. You’ll love it!

      I understand missing the weather. I miss my colder weather in Maryland where I could wear a winter coat even though I know I’ll be complaining about the cold when I visit.

  3. When I look at this, I think of this delicious pumpkin soup I’ve had recently at a local restaurant. I’ve been there twice in the last month or so and the piping hot pumpkin soup is so good, creamy but with a little texture from a few teeny pieces of roasted vegetables in the bottom and a few chestnuts (which I love!). I keep wanting to take out my immersion blender and give this type of soup a try but I’m not sure I’ll get to it this Fall…time is flying! I’m sure your soup is terrific!

      • Funny enough I am not a fan of pumpkin either! I honestly think most of these “pumpkin” soups are made with squash and other root vegetables and very little pumpkin. But in all honesty, I’m not really sure I even know what actual pumpkin straight-up tastes like…it is usually the spices I taste. Last year, I tried a pumpkin pie from Cooks Illustrated but the secret was…using sweet potatoes. 🙂

  4. Pingback: Roasted Acorn Squash Soup | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

