Apple Bread Pudding

Another day in October, another apple post for fall? I know this is not a Halloween post, but I cannot say that I have ever made a Halloween recipe before. I am not very crafty or creative with decorating, but I also am waiting for a reason to do it. My husband is not going to be as impressed with ghost cookies or the like. But, as I said in my last post, we have a bunch of apples in the house. This means I need to find different ways of using them to take advantage. If you liked the sound of the apple crumb, then you will probably enjoy this breakfast version. To be honest, I was making this recipe because I had stale croissants and a pain au chocolat that needed to be used in some way. Bread pudding seemed like a great way because I remembered reading somewhere that old croissants were a nice decadent addition to bread pudding. Well, I could not find a recipe with it so I decided to make my own. This one is not as pudding-like as some recipes, but it worked for me. You could use other fruit, and you do not need croissants but they were really nice in this. I was pleasantly surprised how nicely the bits of chocolate from the pain au chocolat paired with the apple.

If your bread is not stale, no worries. My croissants were not enough, so I used some Italian bread that was bought fresh the day before. I was already preheating the oven, so while the oven preheated, I placed a pan with the bread cubes in the oven. By the time the oven was preheated and I had prepared the apples, they were ready. You could toast them longer if you prefer a crunchier bread pudding. I liked having a combination of half stale and half toasted.

This is definitely a recipe you could make in the morning for breakfast. No major soaking like with some recipes, and no crazy ingredients. As I said, you could even use pears, peaches, or some other fruit.

Directions for Apple Bread Pudding

  • About 4 apples cored and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (should have about 2 to 2.5 cups of apples)
  • About 2 to 2.5 cups of bread cubes (about 1 inch)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar, plus 1 teaspoon
  • 1 Tablespoon butter or substitute (I used Smart Balance) cut into pieces
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus more for sprinkling on top
  • 1.25 cups milk (2% is fine)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. If you need to toast the bread cubes, then place them on a pan while the oven preheats. Remove them when the apples are ready. Prepare an 8×8 or 9×9 square pan. Stir together the brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, cinnamon, milk, vanilla (if using), and eggs. In a large bowl, toss together the apples and bread cubes.

Pour the apples and bread into the square pan. Make sure the bread is well mixed into the apples.

Slowly pour the milk mixture over the top, making sure to coat each piece of bread on top. I turned some of the pieces to help coat them a little better. Press the pieces down. Let sit for about 10-15 minutes.

Then, sprinkle the remaining granulated sugar over the top. I used vanilla sugar instead of using vanilla extract. Also sprinkle some cinnamon on top, as much as you prefer. Place the pieces of butter on top, spreading them out.

Place the pan in the oven and bake for 40 minutes. The top should be browned and the pudding bubbling.

Let it cool for a few minutes before serving.

Directions for Apple Bread Pudding without pictures

  • About 4 apples cored and cut into 1/2 inch pieces (should have about 2 to 2.5 cups of apples)
  • About 2 to 2.5 cups of bread cubes (about 1 inch)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar, plus 1 teaspoon
  • 1 Tablespoon butter or substitute (I used Smart Balance) cut into pieces
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon, plus more for sprinkling on top
  • 1.25 cups milk (2% is fine)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (optional)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. If you need to toast the bread cubes, then place them on a pan while the oven preheats. Remove them when the apples are ready. Prepare an 8×8 or 9×9 square pan. Stir together the brown sugar, 1/4 cup granulated sugar, cinnamon, milk, vanilla (if using), and eggs. In a large bowl, toss together the apples and bread cubes.

Pour the apples and bread into the square pan. Make sure the bread is well mixed into the apples. Slowly pour the milk mixture over the top, making sure to coat each piece of bread on top. I turned some of the pieces to help coat them a little better. Press the pieces down. Let sit for about 10-15 minutes. Then, sprinkle the remaining granulated sugar over the top. I used vanilla sugar instead of using vanilla extract. Also sprinkle some cinnamon on top, as much as you prefer. Place the pieces of butter on top, spreading them out. Place the pan in the oven and bake for 40 minutes. The top should be browned and the pudding bubbling. Let it cool for a few minutes before serving.

Share Your Thoughts

