Sausage with Pasta and Vegetables

Does the title seem generic? It feels kind of boring, but I couldn’t think of a more appropriate name for this dish. I like that you can customize it with vegetables you have on hand, as well as the meat. If you want, you could use turkey or chicken sausage, and I promise that it will still taste great. This is another one of those “end of summer” dishes with the tomatoes, but you could substitute canned tomatoes or leave them out and use a different addition during the winter months. The amounts can be altered as well, depending on what you like. I went a little light on the sausage because I wanted to use up what I had, but then I apparently had a bunch of vegetables and pasta to use.

I feel you should also know, as an informed reader, that I am currently writing this while listening to my 90’s Pop Pandora music station. It is full of Backstreet Boys, Britney Spears, Mariah Carey, and other classics. I am sure you are jealous, but maybe you can share your latest music interests? I apparently am regressing to my middle school and high school music. One Direction has nothing on ‘NSync. (Ha!)

Now, back to kitchen information…

Hopefully even with my lack of an interesting title you will be inspired by the colorful picture above. I like how you can use fun pasta shapes, too. I think spaghetti would also work, but it might be harder to mix all of the ingredients. If you have spicy tastes, I recommend adding some red pepper to this.

And without further ado…

Directions for Sausage with Pasta and Vegetables

Adapted from Jacques Pepin’s “Essential Pepin” cookbook 

  • 1 pound sausage, casing removed and broken into pieces
  • 1-2 ears of corn (you want to cut off the kernels, so frozen can be used)
  • 1-2 cups cherry tomatoes (if not cherry, then cut them into bite-sized pieces)
  • 1-2 crowns of broccoli, chopped (or cauliflower, or broccoli rabe)
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3-4 Tablespoons fresh parsley
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 8 oz pasta (I used closer to 1 pound because I was using leftovers; ziti, penne, shapes, etc. will all work easily)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon Oregano
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

In a large skillet or Dutch Oven, heat the sausage over medium heat. You should not need any oil, but add some if necessary. Once the meat is mostly browned, stir in the sliced onion. Add in 1 tablespoon of parsley.

Meanwhile, prepare a pot of boiling water for the pasta.

Cook the pasta as directed, but when draining reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water.

Once the onions have softened, stir in the broccoli and garlic.

Cover for about 5 minutes to steam the broccoli. Once the broccoli is cooked almost all of the way, stir in the tomatoes, corn, oregano, the rest of the parsley, and some salt and pepper (to taste).

You will need a big pot for this!

When the pasta is ready, stir it in, along with the reserved water. Toss everything together. At the end, stir in the Parmesan cheese.

Directions for Sausage with Pasta and Vegetables without pictures

Adapted from Jacques Pepin’s “Essential Pepin” cookbook 

  • 1 pound sausage, casing removed and broken into pieces
  • 1-2 ears of corn (you want to cut off the kernels, so frozen can be used)
  • 1-2 cups cherry tomatoes (if not cherry, then cut them into bite-sized pieces)
  • 1-2 crowns of broccoli, chopped (or cauliflower, or broccoli rabe)
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 3-4 Tablespoons fresh parsley
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 8 oz pasta (I used closer to 1 pound because I was using leftovers)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon Oregano
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

In a large skillet or Dutch Oven, heat the sausage over medium heat. You should not need any oil, but add some if necessary. Once the meat is mostly browned, stir in the sliced onion. Add in 1 tablespoon of parsley. Meanwhile, prepare a pot of boiling water for the pasta. Cook the pasta as directed, but when draining reserve 1/2 cup of the pasta water.

Once the onions have softened, stir in the broccoli and garlic. Cover for about 5 minutes to steam the broccoli. Once the broccoli is cooked almost all of the way, stir in the tomatoes, corn, oregano, the rest of the parsley, and some salt and pepper (to taste). When the pasta is ready, stir it in, along with the reserved water. Toss everything together. At the end, stir in the Parmesan cheese.

5 thoughts on “Sausage with Pasta and Vegetables

  1. I often feel bad that I don’t experience any new music! When I was in college Cake and The Chili Peppers were alternative cool, but maybe they aren’t now (say it’s not so) or won’t be forever??? I still listen to them. I never listened to the pop rock station so I always found music through friends and parties. Now…not so much.

    I like this dish. Parmesan cheese and veggies rule. My mom made sausage and pasta and parm dish that was FULL of heavy whipping cream. Not quite as healthy as this, but tasty.

Share Your Thoughts

