Mustard Chicken

What is wrong with me? I am again posting a week of savory posts! Apparently I need to get back into the kitchen and do some more baking! Well, truthfully, I have not been baking because I was trying to finish all of the goodies we had before leaving for Hawaii, and then did not make baking my go-to chore when we came back (sorry?). Maybe I will share some pictures of the fancy food from there and let you enjoy that? Right now I am trying to think about what treats I would like to make next. I promised K that when we returned I would make some more ice cream. We have two ice cream containers, and when one is finished, it is expected to get filled again quickly. I like making new flavors, but I kind of want more Chocolate with a  Peanut Butter Swirl….I also have some thoughts on making something with a Biscoff-spread. It’s all the rage these days and I picked one up at a discount store. I also like these PB&J Cupcakes from Candid Appetite. I like that it would get me to make some jelly for the first time ever, and it seems not super scary.

Well, after that paragraph of sweets, here is the real meat of this post! Mustard Chicken! All over Pinterest, you can find recipes for man-pleasing chicken, the best chicken in the world, blah blah blah. I can tell you that I have made a version of this chicken before, and I started making it in college when I still had trouble baking brownies from a box mix. (I still am not really good with box mixes…I don’t know why, but they always seem to burn for me!) Putting mustard with chicken is a no-brainer, as far as I am concerned. It tastes good on a sandwich, so why not in a hot form? Of course, we get to dress it up a bit since it’s for supper, but the basic concept is still there. Chicken. And mustard.

I won’t make any claims as to it being the best chicken you will ever eat. After all, there is no brown butter in this, and we know that brown butter makes everything better. This is my own recipe, and you can make changes to better suit your taste. I will make the claim that this is an easy chicken recipe that you can pretty much make at a moment’s notice (assuming you have chicken, and regularly keep these ingredients like mustard on hand). I had not made this for K before and he said it is a keeper!

You might even want to serve it with some of these:

Who can resist roasted potatoes?

Directions for Mustard Chicken

  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 2 Tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 3 Tablespoons mustard (I used 2 with whole-grain mustard, and 1 Tbsp plain mustard; use what you like)
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 pounds chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces (can also use chicken thighs)
  • Sprigs of fresh rosemary (dried could also work)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Prepare a baking dish large enough to hold the chicken.

Check out my cute rosemary plant. Awwww

In a bowl, mix together the honey, mayo, mustard, and vinegar. If you are using dried rosemary, mix some in now.

Feel free to taste the mixture to make sure it tastes good to you. Then, toss the chicken pieces in the mixture. Place the chicken in an even layer in the baking dish.

If you are using fresh rosemary, sprinkle it over the top now. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through.

Note: You can reserve some of the sauce and serve it over the chicken later, or spoon some on while it’s cooking, but I did not find that necessary. Also, my chicken had been frozen for awhile so it was a little watery. To remedy that, I did use some reserved sauce and mixed it with a few Tablespoons of flour, then mixed that into the baking dish during the middle of baking. This helped to thicken the sauce.

Directions for Mustard Chicken without pictures

  • 2 Tablespoons honey
  • 2 Tablespoons mayonnaise
  • 3 Tablespoons mustard (I used 2 with whole-grain mustard, and 1 Tbsp plain mustard; use what you like)
  • 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar
  • 2 pounds chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces (can also use chicken thighs)
  • Sprigs of fresh rosemary (dried could also work)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Prepare a baking dish large enough to hold the chicken. In a bowl, mix together the honey, mayo, mustard, and vinegar. If you are using dried rosemary, mix some in now. Feel free to taste the mixture to make sure it tastes good to you. Then, toss the chicken pieces in the mixture. Place the chicken in an even layer in the baking dish. If you are using fresh rosemary, sprinkle it over the top now. Bake for about 30 minutes, or until the chicken is cooked through.

Note: You can reserve some of the sauce and serve it over the chicken later, or spoon some on while it’s cooking, but I did not find that necessary. Also, my chicken had been frozen for awhile so it was a little watery. To remedy that, I did use some reserved sauce and mixed it with a few Tablespoons of flour, then mixed that into the baking dish during the middle of baking. This helped to thicken the sauce.

4 thoughts on “Mustard Chicken

    • You might even be able to make it without all of your supplies. I made something like it for my parents many years ago and it’s pretty forgiving. 🙂

Share Your Thoughts

