Salmon with Yogurt Dill Sauce

Talk about taking an idea and running with it! We bought a bunch of salmon a little ways back and have it in the freezer. I was in a fish mood, but I wanted to do something different with the salmon. I decided to try a sauce not unlike the buttermilk one I had on some chicken. This is a really simple recipe, although I tossed in a bunch of ingredients. You can feel free to edit and make changes as you wish. Make sure to do taste checks as you add things. When I first tasted it, I thought it was too sour so I added some honey to help, and then the Wasabi sauce to add a small kick. I did not have fresh dill this time, but really like this jarred dried dill I found–a nice fresh smell and flavor! You can use fresh instead, and use other herbs with it for your perfect blend.

I guess if I keep this up, I should create a whole salmon section on this blog. It’s hard to avoid because it is so plentiful in the Pacific Northwest, cheap, tasty, and easy to cook! We do not get tired of it, and it pairs well with many other foods. You could easily make this dish with mashed potatoes, risotto, or rice. We chose rice and a mushroom/asparagus/onion saute.

For the saute, I simply heated some oil in a pan with some chopped garlic, then tossed in the mushrooms, onions, and asparagus. I also added some pepper and more of the cilantro and parsley that I used with the fish. I covered it for a few minutes, then kept tossing and stirring for about 10 minutes until everything was cooked through and had a nice color.

Directions for Salmon with Yogurt Dill Sauce

See notes above about changes you can make

  • Fillet of salmon (I used a 2 person fillet, but this sauce makes enough for easily double that)
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive oil
  • 1 cup yogurt (I used Greek)
  • 1 Tablespoon milk
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill (or substitute fresh)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon mayo
  • 1 Tablespoon Wasabi sauce

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a baking dish for the salmon and place the salmon in it, skin side down.

Mix all of the remaining ingredients in a food processor or blender to create a smooth, but thick, sauce.

Adding some honey for sweetness…

Pour enough of the sauce on top of the salmon to cover the top.

I topped with some fresh herbs, but do not do this…the texture wasn’t as nice after. You can add some after it’s cooked, if you want.

Bake for about 20 minutes until it is cooked through. When serving, feel free to spoon more sauce on top.

Sauce sauce sauce sauce

Directions for Salmon with Yogurt Dill Sauce without pictures

See notes above about changes you can make

  • Fillet of salmon (I used a 2 person fillet, but this sauce makes enough for easily double that)
  • 1 Tablespoon Olive oil
  • 1 cup yogurt (I used Greek)
  • 1 Tablespoon milk
  • 2 teaspoons honey
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon dried dill (or substitute fresh)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon mayo
  • 1 Tablespoon Wasabi sauce

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Prepare a baking dish for the salmon and place the salmon in it, skin side down. Mix all of the remaining ingredients in a food processor or blender to create a smooth, but thick, sauce. Pour enough of the sauce on top of the salmon to cover the top. Bake for about 20 minutes until it is cooked through. When serving, feel free to spoon more sauce on top.

4 thoughts on “Salmon with Yogurt Dill Sauce

Share Your Thoughts

