Tips-y Tuesdays: Shortcuts in Cooking

The final Tips-y Tuesday! I decided to reveal some shortcuts I use which many people (yourself included) might turn up their noses at. Do you ever use slightly prepped ingredients? Sometimes I use it for speeding up the steps, but sometimes it is just that I am as happy with what I can buy compared to what I can make.

Garlic: I admit, I use the minced garlic in the jars most of the time. If I want roasted garlic, or really want cloves, then I will buy the bulbs. Otherwise, expect to see the jar.

Onions: Unless the recipe needs sliced onions, I use frozen chopped onions. They work really well for sauteing and the bonus is I don’t have to shed any tears for the chopping.

Chopped Fruit: For sorbet, fresh fruit works fine but I like using frozen so that I don’t have to worry about prepping the fruit (especially for more challenging fruits like the mango) and it starts the chilling process early.

Room-temperature butter/eggs: For butter, if short on time, I use the microwave to heat it up slightly. For eggs, I hold them until warm water and then put them in a bowl of tepid water to speed it up a bit.

Here are some tips from America’s Test Kitchen. My favorite from their list is the salmon deboning one!

Feel free to share shortcuts you use!

6 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Shortcuts in Cooking

  1. Hi,
    Hope you are enjoying your vacation.
    Cousin Bettina wanted you to know how much see loves reading
    your Fudging Ahead. She asked me to send you a Hello.
    Love,
    Aunt V

  2. Pingback: Milk Bar Brownie Pie with Liquid Cheesecake Frosting and Strawberry/Blueberry Curd | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Dutch Oven Tomato Sauce | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

