Cinnamon Scones

This is another scone recipe. It is actually a fair bit different from the others I’ve been working with because it’s not from Dorie Greenspan, but actually from King Arthur’s Flour, via bakerunlive.com. You can find her post about them here. If you are just tuning in, I have been making different scone recipes to see which ones my dad would most like and cinnamon was a flavor he had mentioned as an option. This particular recipe is great because it has a filling! There is a glaze as well, but I left that off.

These scones turned out really well and the recipe makes a bunch! My biggest problem was the cinnamon chips. They are tricky to find, and I’m not a big fan of the flavor of the ones I used (Hershey’s). That’s why I found a cinnamon chip recipe I used in a different set of scones I will share soon. You can feel free to use whatever ones you like. I know that King Arthur Flour makes some that people rave about, but I haven’t had them.

I started by making the filling first, as the recipe says.

Directions for Cinnamon Lover’s Scones
Adapted from King Arthur Flour and bakerunlive.com

  • 2.75 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup cinnamon chips
  • 1.5 Tablespoons + 1/2  teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons water

Combine the brown sugar and 1.5 Tablespoons cinnamon in a bowl. Slowly stir in the water until you get a spreadable consistency.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using whatever technique you prefer (I use my fingers), cut in the butter until the mixture resembles small peas. Stir in the eggs and vanilla with a fork.  Add the cinnamon chips at this point. Then add in the half and half and stir (again with a fork) until the dough just comes together.

On a floured surface, roll the dough into a circle about 9 inches in diameter. Spread on the cinnamon mixture. I did not have enough, so I sprinkled on some cinnamon sugar as well. Leave room around the edge for when you have to fold. Fold the dough like a letter (in thirds) into a rectangular shape. Roll it out until you get the dough a little flatter (around 3 inches across). Cut into whatever shapes you prefer and transfer to a lined cookie sheet.

Like many scone doughs that use dairy other than cream, it was a little wet, so feel free to have flour ready to sprinkle across and help with sticking!

Place in the freezer for 30 minutes so that the butter can refirm. Since my sheets are too big for the freezer, I just used the fridge and chilled for longer while I made a different batch of scones.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Bake the scones for about 20 minutes until golden brown. Let cool for about 5-10 minutes on a wire rack before eating. These do reheat well.

This recipe made a lot of scones!

Directions without pictures for Cinnamon Lover’s Scones
Adapted from King Arthur Flour and bakerunlive.com

  • 2.75 cups flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cold butter, cut into pieces
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup half and half
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 cup cinnamon chips
  • 1.5 Tablespoons + 1/2  teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 Tablespoons water

Combine the brown sugar and 1.5 Tablespoons cinnamon in a bowl. Slowly stir in the water until you get a spreadable consistency.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Using whatever technique you prefer (I use my fingers), cut in the butter until the mixture resembles small peas. Stir in the eggs and vanilla with a fork.  Add the cinnamon chips at this point. Then add in the half and half and stir (again with a fork) until the dough just comes together.

On a floured surface, roll the dough into a circle about 9 inches in diameter. Spread on the cinnamon mixture. I did not have enough, so I sprinkled on some cinnamon sugar as well. Leave room around the edge for when you have to fold. Fold the dough like a letter (in thirds) into a rectangular shape. Roll it out until you get the dough a little flatter (around 3 inches across). Cut into whatever shapes you prefer and transfer to a lined cookie sheet. Place in the freezer for 30 minutes so that the butter can refirm. Since my sheets are too big for the freezer, I just used the fridge and chilled for longer while I made a different batch of scones.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. Bake the scones for about 20 minutes until golden brown. Let cool for about 5-10 minutes on a wire rack before eating. These do reheat well.

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Scones

  1. These were delicious, especially the “cinnamon-sugar” layer 😀 Did you end up using KA flour? I’ve always wondered if the difference is apparent… I think ATK says so, but I am skeptical.

  2. Pingback: Berry Buttermilk Scones | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Berry Buttermilk Scones | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Cranberry Scones | fudgingahead

  5. Pingback: Homemade Cinnamon Chips | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

