Forging–or Fudging–Ahead!

I am beginning this blog with the hope of chronicling recipes I have made that are hits and also some of the misses.  It will be nice to look back and remember both the progress and the fun in making new things.  My husband K and I both like to cook, although I think I am a bit more obsessive about food than he is.  We started dating after I shared some fudge I had made with him–I had of course prefaced the tasty treat by telling him a day earlier that it was the best fudge in the world.  It was a recipe I had learned in college and continued making for years winning many fans.  No one seemed to care that it was simple, they just knew it was tasty.

The recipe comes from my Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.  They had a fancy fudge recipe and a simple, fast, and “healthier” fudge recipe, so I of course went for the latter.  All you do is take …

  • A can of sweetened condensed milk
  • One ounce of unsweetened chocolate
  • One bag of semi-sweet chocolate chips
and melt them together over low heat in a small saucepan until nice and smooth, stirring constantly with a wooden spoon or heat resistant spatula.  Then, turn off the heat, and add any mix-ins, including vanilla extract and marshmallows/nuts/etc. Spread the fudge into a foil-lined 8×8 pan and let it sit out until cooled. You can chill it, but then the chocolate gets the untempered-look.
See how easy?
I gave the recipe out countless times, but people didn’t want to make it, just eat it.  I can’t say I blame them, but there came a time when I was tired of making fudge and wanted to move on to fancier things.
Since then, my cooking repertoire has extended past basic American and Italian into Chinese (thanks to my in-laws), Indian, and “Mexican” (not really authentic, but tasty!).
If you aren’t bored yet, I promise to include pretty, or at least useful, pictures and some advice to avoid any pitfalls (or advice for ways of saving the result after you messed up!).

For starters . . . my sunken middles

IMG_5790
became a yummy strawberry cake with (almost) no evidence of the middle at all!
I look forward to sharing more stories and food with anyone interested in following along.
4 thoughts on “Forging–or Fudging–Ahead!

  1. Pingback: Peppermint Smores Fudge

  2. Pingback: My Favorite Fudgy Brownies | fudgingahead

  3. Pingback: Baked Spaghetti with Meat Sauce | fudgingahead

  4. Pingback: Two Layer Cookies and Cream Chocolate Fudge | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

