Homemade Hummus

With today being a day off for many people, I wanted to keep today’s post short and sweet. Or, at least, short. It’s more savory than sweet. I knew making hummus should be fairly simple, but I had never made it before. K was really excited and wants us to make it again. If you can make guacamole, you can make hummus. The main thing was picking up chickpeas and tahini. Don’t forget that sometimes chickpeas are labeled garbanzo beans. For the tahini, it is a bit pricey, but you will use it again in another recipe later this week. Besides, if you like hummus, you can easily keep it in your pantry and use the tahini again and again.

IMG_0326

Stay tuned this week to make the rest of this dish!

IMG_0344

Directions for Hummus

Adapted from Pomegranates and Pine Nuts

  • 2.5 Tablespoons tahini
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  • 1 cup canned chickpeas
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 3 ice cubes
  • Pinch ground allspice
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Pepper (to taste)

In a small bowl, stir together the tahini, lemon juice, and water.

IMG_0321

Rinse the chickpeas, then drain them. Place the chickpeas in the food processor with the garlic and pulse for 30 seconds.

IMG_0323

Then, add one ice cube at a time, processing in between each, until incorporated.

IMG_0324

Pour in the tahini mixture, then pulse until a smooth puree forms. Pulse in the allspice, as well as the salt and pepper to taste.

IMG_0325

Directions for Hummus (without pictures)

Adapted from Pomegranates and Pine Nuts

  • 2.5 Tablespoons tahini
  • 2 Tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 Tablespoon water
  • 1 cup canned chickpeas
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 3 ice cubes
  • Pinch ground allspice
  • Salt (to taste)
  • Pepper (to taste)

In a small bowl, stir together the tahini, lemon juice, and water. Rinse the chickpeas, then drain them. Place the chickpeas in the food processor with the garlic and pulse for 30 seconds. Then, add one ice cube at a time, processing in between each, until incorporated. Pour in the tahini mixture, then pulse until a smooth puree forms. Pulse in the allspice, as well as the salt and pepper to taste.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Hummus

  1. Funny, I feel like I’m a late bloomer in terms of some cooking realizations – it’s only been this year that I’ve stopped buying salad dressing because I had no idea how simple and healthy it is to make your own. And thanks to your post, now I feel the same way about hummus! Isn’t it neat to think about adding different flavourings you see in stores, like roasted red pepper or jalapeño or black pepper… I’m all excited now! Thanks!!

  2. I just discovered a love of hummus very recently! So good, particularly as a spread on a wrap with some hot fixin’s inside! I have been buying it since I didn’t want a huge tin of tahini around…I was mulling about making tahini but that’s way ambitious, I think. Your spread looks delicious! Will you try making it after removing the skin one day? I wonder if it’s worth it.

    • I might try it one day, but it does require thinking the day before about it. :D That’s a bit tricky. I’m not sure how much your hummus has been to buy, but the tahini cost about $6, and I figure I can easily make several batches of hummus with it, which helps negate the cost.

Share Your Thoughts

