Tips-y Tuesdays: Mini Meatloaf Muffins

K likes meatloaf quite a bit, especially considering he never had the homemade kind growing up. Sometimes he gets cravings for it, but sometimes I want to mix up the style a bit. I have made ones with ground beef and turkey, eggs inside, tomato-based ones, mustard-based ones…you name it! This time, I used some barbecue sauce leftover from barbecue chicken. I also made the meatloafs in muffin pans instead of a normal loaf pan or baking dish. If you like having lots of the outside parts that get slightly crisp and saucy, then you might want to consider making them this way.

Save some barbecue sauce for the end, too!

Save some barbecue sauce for the end, too!

Use whatever meatloaf recipe you love, or you can use mine. You can also do what I did and use some barbecue sauce in place of the ketchup sauce I include in the recipe. Simply make the meatloaf the way you normally do, but form them in the muffin pan.

IMG_9426

 

IMG_9428

 

Don’t forget your sauce!

IMG_9431

Be sure to spray the muffin pan first. Then, bake at the same temperature for your recipe. They will take less time to cook. You can use a meat thermometer to help check, or also cut one open.

IMG_9439

 

IMG_9438

6 thoughts on “Tips-y Tuesdays: Mini Meatloaf Muffins

  1. Very cool using the muffin tin! I have a funny story about meatloaf. When my parents got married my dad raved about my mom’s trying to compliment her cooking, so she made it for him every week. At the end of about 3 years my dad suddenly looked up fr his meatloaf and said, “You know, I’ve never cared for meatloaf.” My mom never made it again. So although I didn’t grow up with it, I’d love to give yours a try!

Share Your Thoughts

