Pie Crust for a Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

I wanted something chocolatey in the house after making tons of non-chocolate scones and having run out of brownies. After browsing my bookmarks, I found what I was looking for–a chocolate chip cookie pie. I had to start by making a pie crust, so I used this recipe from Faux Martha.

This was only my second pie crust ever, so I tried to follow the recipe faithfully. This recipe makes two crusts. Don’t be like me–I didn’t know what to do with the other one and waited too long so I had to toss the second one. I found out later that you should pretend like you’re making the second crust into a pie (press it into a pan then freeze it so it will be ready when you need it).

The recipe was pretty easy and I liked the end result. The filling was also tasty! I think next time I might prebake the crust slightly (maybe 5 minutes) and then fill it. It seemed like the bottom could have been a little more crisp/browned.

Directions for a Pie Crust (makes 2)

  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, very cold
  • 1 cup water with ice

Whisk together the flour, sugar, and salt. Cut the butter into the mixture so that you get pea-sized chunks. Keep the chunks to allow for a flaky crust.

Using a fork, add half of the water, stirring. Continue adding a spoon of water at a time just until the dough comes together. (It’s ok if you don’t use all of the water.)

Separate the dough into 2 disks, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill in the fridge for 40 minutes.

Roll a disc of  the dough onto a floured surface until you can get it big enough to fill your pie pan. Trim excess dough, but allow some for crimping the edge.

Love those pieces of butter hiding in there!

There are other steps but since I am filling the pie before baking I don’t need them.

Directions for the Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie adapted from Nestle

  • 1 unbaked pie crust
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • A pinch of vanilla powder, or a splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (I used chunks)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Beat the eggs until foamy. Add in the flour, vanilla, and sugars and beat until well blended. Mix in the softened butter.

I got the vanilla powder from a friend and I’d never heard of it before, but it’s cool!

Stir in the chocolate chips.

Spread in the pie crust and bake for 50-60 minutes.

Finished product pictures:

Directions without pictures for a Pie Crust (makes 2)

  • 2.5 cups flour
  • 2 Tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, very cold
  • 1 cup water with ice

Whisk together the flour, sugar, and salt. Cut the butter into the mixture so that you get pea-sized chunks. Keep the chunks to allow for a flaky crust.

Using a fork, add half of the water, stirring. Continue adding a spoon of water at a time just until the dough comes together. (It’s ok if you don’t use all of the water.)

Separate the dough into 2 disks, wrap in plastic wrap, and chill in the fridge for 40 minutes.

Roll a disc of  the dough onto a floured surface until you can get it big enough to fill your pie pan. Trim excess dough, but allow some for crimping the edge.

There are other steps but since I am filling the pie before baking I don’t need them.

Directions for the Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie adapted from Nestle

  • 1 unbaked pie crust
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup white granulated sugar
  • A pinch of vanilla powder, or a splash of vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups chocolate chips (I used chunks)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.

Beat the eggs until foamy. Add in the flour, vanilla, and sugars and beat until well blended. Mix in the softened butter. Stir in the chocolate chips. Spread in the pie crust and bake for 50-60 minutes.

2 thoughts on “Pie Crust for a Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie

  1. Pingback: Indulge Yourself: Chocolate Chip Cookie Pie | Mrs Gaeul

  2. Pingback: June Foodie Penpals Exchange! | fudgingahead

Share Your Thoughts

