Peanut Butter Sandwich Cookies

This was the recipe that prompted me to start this blog.  I always liked to take progress pictures and “finished product” pictures, but I never really did much other than post some on Facebook.  I was about halfway into this recipe and thought, “what if I tried to take more pictures and then posted about it?”.  I thought it would be nice to have a journal of what I’ve made so I can look back and learn from old mistakes, see what modifications I made/suggested, and also to share with people who are also interested in cooking.

Silpat and parchment both worked well

One of my favorite foods is peanut butter.  I love it in desserts, in meals, and just out of the jar.  A lot.  If I am hungry, and it’s not mealtime yet, you will usually find me with a spoon in the jar.  My husband teases me for it, but it keeps me from getting cranky!  I keep one jar for eating out of, and one for public uses.  Ha!  And on a second note, peanut butter with chocolate . . . oooh boy, you have my attention!

Look at that gorgeous filling!

This recipe is actually in a cookbook I have for chocolate recipes, and yet the only chocolate in this is the mini chips in the creamy filling.  Oh well.  I still liked it!

These cookies are softer and less dense than regular peanut butter cookies you might buy at the store.  The filling is also pretty light and fluffy, which helps keep the cookie from tasting too dry.  I even made it a little healthier with less butter and milk instead of heavy cream.

This recipe is adapted from Absolutely Chocolate: Irresistible Excuses to Indulge  (I love this cookbook!)

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Sandwich Cookies

Ingredients for the cookies (filling is below):

  • 6 oz (1.5 cups) AP flour
  • 2 oz (2/3 cup) cake flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup butter, softened at room temperature (I used about 1/2 cup instead)
  • 3/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg

Directions for the cookies: 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and have cookie sheets available, lined with parchment/silpat/etc.

Sift together the first four ingredients.  Cream the butter, peanut butter, and sugars until light and fluffy.

Add the vanilla and egg, creaming for about 3 minutes if you use a mixer, until again smooth and fluffy.

Stir in the flour mixture by hand just barely until incorporated. Drop spoons of batter onto your cookie sheets and flatten with your fingers.  They won’t spread much since you are flattening them.  Try to keep the cookies evenly shaped and sized for when you make sandwiches later.  You can make them as big or as small as you like.

Pairing up the cookies, two by two!

Bake for about 12-14 minutes until golden.  Some of mine got a little more golden than others, so it’s your preference because they all tasted good.

So much browning! But my husband liked these the best!

Cool the cookies while you make the filling.

Directions for the filling:

  • 1.5 cups confectioner’s sugar
  • 6 tablespoons butter (I used just half a stick)
  • 3/4 cup smooth peanut butter
  • 3 Tablespoons heavy cream (I substituted milk and it was still tasty)
  • 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1/4 cup chopped roasted unsalted peanuts (I omitted and just added double chips)

Cream confectioner’s sugar, butter, and peanut butter until smooth. Stir in a couple tablespoons of milk.  Then add the mini chocolate chips and peanuts (if adding).

Use an offset spatula to help spread the filling onto the cookies.  Then, pair up the cookies and you’re done!  Be careful when sandwiching because the cookies are delicate.

I recommend doing a little on each, then closing them once you have used all the filling. This way, you know they each have enough. Don’t try to fill, close, then refill–it doesn’t work well!

These cookies kept for a week or so, and were still soft.

Finished!

This is a recipe I would make again, but they are definitely for people who aren’t afraid of peanut butter.  You could probably add some chocolate chips into the cookies as well, just to bring the chocolate flavor out a little more.

Share Your Thoughts

